Gabriel Deshayes

Gabriel Deshayes




Our History

On June 6, 1819, Jean-Marie Robert de Lamennais, vicar of Saint-Brieuc chapter, and Gabriel Deshayes , priest and Vicar General of Auray, Vannes, Saint-Brieuc sign the union treaty that ensures the convergence of their efforts to "provide for the common people, especially those from the countryside of Brittany, teachers firmly piles ... "

Animated by the breath of the Holy Spirit, comforted by their mutual agreement, they redouble their care for the development of the nascent work. The first broadcast the vow of obedience held in retirement town of Auray, September 15, 1820. The young Brothers of Christian Instruction growing rapidly. Through an acquisition ofDeshayes Father , the Father of the masterfully done Ploërmel, from November 1824, the center of the congregation.

Disciples of Founders to the zeal of fire, in spite of early training and material conditions, precarious Ploërmel Brothers are hard, for kids from poor areas, in light of the Gospel and the rudiments of secular knowledge. Filled with missionary daring, cross many seas to open, the Caribbean and Africa, the heart of liberating people to the Word of Christ the Saviour.

Ensured the sustainability of the Institute to which he gave everything, surrounded by the love of his eight hundred and fifty to two brothers and one of the Sisters of Providence of Saint-Brieuc, revered by multitudes of children and parents Jean-Marie de Lamennais believes not having done enough: "My son, finished my work," he says Brother Cyprian few days before his death in Ploërmel December 26, 1860.

The Brothers, in the unwavering fidelity to the intentions of their founders continue to provide instruction in their schools and Christian education of youth. The missionary work, wanted since 1837, continues in the same line in Guadeloupe, Martinique, Senegal, Guyana, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Tahiti and in Haiti from 1864. And when the aftershocks of the French policy of deporting most of these regions, their apostolic zeal led the brothers to Canada.

Meanwhile, they were reinforced by a dual adherence: the Brothers of Biscay in 1876, founded by Bishop's Cross Azolette, Arch.evêque Auch, and the Brothers of St. Mary in 1880 Tinchebray , founded by Abbe Charles-Augustin Duguey.

Forbidden in France in 1903, robbed of their property, fell in a few years two thousand two hundred to a thousand members, the congregation keeps faith in his destiny. She keeps in his home country with many of his son insensitive to the discomfort and risks of the underground. It spreads out in Bulgaria, Turkey, Egypt. It grows in Canada where it is present since 1886. It takes up the U.S., England, Spain and Italy, England and the United States ..

Without delay, many of these countries send their own children, the Brothers of Christian Instruction, rescue missions and existing, in turn, found new in Africa (Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Seychelles, Kenya, Rwanda, Burundi, Zaire), Congo Republic, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile and Japan, the Philippines and Alaska. From Spain Brothers travel to Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Bolivia. Meanwhile, the Brothers of France, returned to Senegal and the Marquesas Islands, opening new missions in Côte d'Ivoire, and Togo and Benin. The Provinces of Spain and France realized in 2000, a foundation to Indonesia.

This work of evangelization continued in wide range of environments, could be achieved more easily because the brothers from the beginning, is the express wish of Jean-Marie de Lamennais, have been formed religious congregation. Parallel to the territorial extension of the Institute, Chapters Generals have completed its organization, stressing the fundamental unity of religious life and apostolate. In adapting to the times, the superiors and the Brothers have better understood that the effectiveness of apostolic action depended on a higher level of general culture and a deep spiritual life, nourished by biblical and theological knowledge, the both guaranteed by the strength of the initial and ongoing training.

Thus, the dual religious heritage and apostolic received from their founders, authenticated by the papal recognition in 1891, and still faithfully kept, it is forwarded to the Brethren today.

In an ever changing world, they want to make generous serving youth, both sensitive to the aspirations of their contemporaries and constant reference to Christ, the supreme rule of their lives.

Our Foundation...

Our Foundation...
Then and Now

Preserving our faith-based legacy is a high priority; to do that, we must define that legacy, tend to it, and extend it throughout its facilities. This is necessary to remain faithful to the founding principles.

On June 16, 1819, Jean Marie de la Mennais, vicar of Saint-Brieuc, and Gabriel Deshayes, pastor at Auray and vicar general of Vannes, formed the Brothers of Christian Instruction by signing a treaty uniting their efforts to educate the working class in impoverished France. They vowed to carry the message of the gospel and the rudiments of knowledge to every child in need throughout the region and received Catholic papal approval in 1890. The congregation of the Brothers of Christian Instruction grew rapidly, soon extending their mission into Bulgaria, Turkey, Egypt, Spain, England, Canada, and The United States. When the policies of the French government resulted in the Brothers' expulsion, their apostolic zeal led them to Canada in 1886.

Jean Marie de la Mennais
(pictured in portrait seated to the right), vicar of Saint-Brieuc, and Gabriel Deshayes (pictured in portrait standing to the left), pastor at Auray and vicar general of Vannes, formed the Brothers of Christian Instruction by signing a treaty uniting their efforts to educate the working class in impoverished France.

The Congregation of the Brothers of Christian Instruction has a coat-of-arms which affirms its identity, tells of its history, and proclaims its purpose. The upper half features a cross, bracketed by the initials D and S, which constitutes the traditional emblem of the Congregation.

The D.S. stands for “DieuSeul”, in English “For God Alone.”Above the cross, a radiant star symbolizes the Brothers’ mission to spread the knowledge and love of Jesus Christ. The bottom half recalls the origins of the Congregation. The section with the golden chevron, the ears of wheat and the silver anchor refers to the la Mennais family. Pierre Louis Robert, a ship owner and importer, had generously supplied wheat and other cereals to the people of Brittany at a time of near-famine, thus earning letters of nobility entitling him to add the title de la Mennais to his surname.

A silver field dotted with ermines, is taken from the emblem of Brittany, where the Congregation was founded. Encompassing the escutcheon is a rosary, which signifies the devotion of the Brothers to Mary, their Mother, and patroness of the Congregation. The official title of the Congregation is given on the border between the rosary and the cartouche.

The olive branches suggest the spirit of peace and charity animating the Brothers in their mutual relations and in their dealings with others, especially their students. Below the armorial display is the Divine Master’s admonition to his disciples, Let the Children Come to Me.

In 1951, the Brothers established La Mennais college in Alfred, Maine, with the purpose of instructing young men to become brothers and teachers.

A chance comment by Brother Francoeur, who was the academic dean of La Mennais College to Monsignor William Hughes, principal of Cardinal Mooney High School in Youngstown at a summer course at Notre Dame in 1957, was that the Brothers were looking for a new location for La Mennais. Msgr Hughes mentioned the Youngstown Diocese as a possible location.

Who we are named for...

In 1958, The Brothers of Christian Instruction obtained from is Excellency, the Most Reverend Emmet Walsh, Bishop of Youngstown, permission to open a liberal arts college for men in the Canton area, and is affiliated with Catholic University of America.

Bishop Emmett Walsh invited the Brothers to settle in the Youngstown Diocese. When the Brothers found that the name they had chosen for their new college, Canton College, was already in use, they decided to name their new college for the man who gave them assistance in settling in this community. The bishop gave the brothers a gift of $350,000 toward the construction of the new college.

In 1959, dandelions and alfalfa occupied the acreage where College Hall (Farrell Hall) stands. After the buildings were built, alfalfa was still grown on some of the land.

50 acres of land contained two buildings initially: The administration/instruction building, which housed offices, library, labs, classrooms, a cafeteria, and a student lounge. The faculty residence hall also housed a small number of student Brothers of Christian Instruction and contained a small chapel.

A residence for the Brothers (La Mennais Hall) emerged and the academic building (Farrell Hall), stood on the mostly bare grounds.

La Mennais Hall continues to house the Brothers of Christian Instruction and international priest-students and serves as the offices for the Division of Language and Letters.

La Mennais Hall at then Walsh College
(The Brother's Residence)

Walsh's Founding Brothers, 1960 -
(seated, left to right) - Dacian J. Barrette (Business Manager, Business & French), Thomas S. Farrell (President, English) and Henry J. Vannasse (Theology).(standing from left) - Edmond Drouin (librarian), Paul E. Masse (Registrar, History & Latin), Robert A. Francoeur (Academic Dean, Philosophy & German), and Alexis Guilbault (Mathmatics)

What is a Brother? They are teachers and administrators. They take vows of poverty, chastity, and obedience. They live in community. They are located around the world: Argentina, Benin, Bolivia, Canada, Chili’, Congo, CÔTE D'IVOIRE, England, France, French Polynesia, Haiti, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Phillipines, Rwanda, Senegal, Spain, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, USA, Uruguay.

Their main charism is teaching.

In 1960, the Brothers open their new college in North Canton, Ohio. La Mennais College in Alfred, Maine, became Walsh College in North Canton, Ohio.

Sixty-seven gentlemen were admitted to the school November 17, 1960.

“As we walked through the doors we were immersed in no tradition, following in no footsteps. In our four years we had to form traditions, to lay the first footsteps.” (
The Lamp [yearbook], 1964)

Now, more than 2,800 students attend Walsh University and its sister campuses in Akron, Medina, Canfield and Rome.

Through good times and bad, a campus continues to grow. The small, Catholic college of two buildings and 50 acres in 1960 has grown to a University of 19 buildings, 140 acres, satellite campuses for working adults and more than 2800 students.

December 19, 1961 – first issue of Walsh's student newspaper is released and called “The Spectator.”

November 29, 1962Cavaliers is chosen as the official Walsh nickname.

1962 – Women attend Walsh under a program operated by the Diocese to train lay teachers for elementary schools of the diocese – taught by the Ursuline sisters and Walsh faculty. By 1967, Walsh officially becomes co-ed.

1963-64 - Total enrollment: 412, including the 47 seniors.

1969 - Enrollment surpasses 1000.

2008-2009: Over 1350 returning part-time and full-time undergraduate students, 380 undergraduate students in the School for Professional Studies, 435 in the Graduate programs, and a projected 490 incoming Freshmen.

Walsh College becomes Walsh University in 1993.

Large W for Walsh University, a cross, bracketed by the initials D and S, constitutes the traditional emblem of the Brothers of Christian Instruction. The crest is a Roman lamp with a red Chi-Rho indicating that each gradate is called by Christ to be a light of the world. The Motto “Sed Deus DatIncrementum” is from 1 Corinthians 3:7. The full text reads “Therefore, neither he that plants is anything, nor he that waters; but God that gives the increase.”

This expresses the thought that, although the faculty give all they can to educate, they know that the flowering of their seed is from the Almighty God.

In 2005, Walsh builds its first free-standing chapel, a long-standing vision for the campus. Until its construction, students attended Mass in a small chapel in the Rannou Campus Center (Now the Barrette Center).

The Walsh University Chapel, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, is named in honor of the patroness of the Brothers of Christian Instruction.

The Chapel houses the Division of Theology and the Chaplain’s office.

College Hall circa 1960.

College Hall (Farrell Hall) today.

The tradition of the Brothers continues today as many still live on campus and continue to serve Walsh Univeristy and the community. Student-Brothers from around the world have attended and lived at Walsh.

Br. Ernest Paquet

Br. Jerome Lessard

Br. Guy Roddy

Br. John Kalama

Br. Marcel Sylvestre

Br. Joseph Power

Our Lady of Perpetual Help, patroness saint of the Brothers of Christian Instruction.

Today, the Brothers of Christian Instruction, who number more then 1,300 in 25 countries, live out their commitment to providing a values-based Catholic education to all who seek it. To this day, Walsh University is proud that nearly 50% of our students are the first in their families to attend college. The Brothers hope to continue on their nearly 200-year-old mission of teaching students to become leaders in service to others.

Student Richard Jusseaume in 1967, Outstanding Academic Student shown with Brother Farrell, President of Walsh College. Jusseaume was the first student to obtain a 4.0 GPA, which he maintained through all 4 years at Walsh as an English major.

Today, Richard Jusseaume is the 6th president of Walsh University.


Saint-Malo (săN-mälō'), town (1990 pop. 49,274), Ille-et-Vilaine dept., NW France, on the English Channel. Built on a rocky promontory, Saint-Malo is a fishing port and one of the great tourist centers of Brittany. The major industries are deep-sea fishing, printing, machinery manufacturing, and boatbuilding. There is regular ferry service to the Channel Islands in the summer. A Welsh monk built a monastery nearby in the 6th cent., and in the 9th cent. refugees fleeing Norman raids on nearby Saint-Servan settled at the site of the present-day Saint-Malo. The town was made a part of France in 1491; it became a prosperous commercial seaport in the 1500s. Between the 17th and 19th cent., French corsairs operated out of Saint-Malo, despite repeated English efforts to destroy the port and corsair fleet. Saint-Malo is famous for its ramparts and its 17th-century architecture. Points of interest include the main gate to the city (15th cent.), a château (15th cent.) that is now a municipal museum, and an open-air aquarium. In World War II, German forces, retreating before the U.S. army, set the city ablaze. In 1966 a tidal-power station, harnessing the energy from the channel's high tides, was opened. The nearby towns of Saint-Servan and Paramé were annexed by Saint-Malo in 1967. The city was the birthplace of Jacques Cartier and François Chateaubriand, whose tomb is near the harbor.

Fr. John - Mary De La Mennais

Fr. John - Mary De La Mennais
La Mennais



Three locations mark the life of Jean-Mariedi Lamennais:
Saint-Malo , Saint-Brieuc and Ploërmel


Jean-Marie de Lamennais was born Sept. 8, 1780 in Saint-Malo, where his father was a shipowner. On several occasions when food shortages, it's gun ships to meet the needs of the region by selling at a loss Malo wheat, flax and hemp.
The children of Jean-Marie is marked by the French Revolution . Teenager at the time of the Terror, it is often bold and generous in assistance to persecuted priests. He studied alone in benefiting from the vast culture of his uncle and deepened his faith through spiritual guidance of abbots and Old Engerran.

He was ordained February 25, 1804 in Rennes. For several years, he has at Saint-Malo loads vicar of the cathedral and the seminary professor.

Exhausted, he must rest. With his brother Felicity, he took the opportunity to complete his personal training: the mansion Chesnaie , he studied philosophy, ancient languages, the Fathers of the Church ... Together, they publish two books that make sense: "Reflections on state of the Church in France "and" Tradition of the Church on the institution of bishops. "

This intellectual fruitful period from which springs a bold plan for the renewal of faith in France inspire his great deeds to come.

It resumed his priestly service in Saint-Malo. But in 1813, by order of Napoleon, the seminar should close; the family business, ruined by the blockade, went bankrupt. Father John is responsible for the liquidation of property and is free: he accepts the offer of the Bishop of Saint-Brieuc, who calls as secretary.


Beginning 1815, the bishop of Saint-Brieuc dies suddenly. At 35, Jean-Marie de Lamennais is placed at the head of the diocese for a period of five years. Under his leadership, the Christian life is reborn: he organized the ecclesiastical retreats, hosts the popular missions, supports the monastic life, reform seminars. But youth are deeply concerned about the point: Saint-Brieuc , it is the direct witness of the crime and is convinced that education becomes a priority for his time.

In 1819, he began to gather some young people to train to become teachers. Three years earlier, in Auray, Father Gabriel Deshayes was predeceased by an identical project. On June 6, 1819, they contract a covenant of union is the origin of the Brothers of Christian Instruction.

In November 1819, a new bishop is located in Saint-Brieuc, Jean-Marie de la Lamennais and the second accepts the office of vicar general of the Grand Chaplain in Paris where he worked two years, the appointment of bishops in France and chaplains.

On November 16, 1824, Jean-Marie de Lamennais moved to Ploërmel in the old Ursuline Convent, which is becoming the center of the congregation.

By car, he traveled tirelessly Britain and creates new schools at the discretion of requests from priests or mayors. When he returned to Ploërmel, it remains the large number of letters that awaits. He advises his brothers, expressed his vision of education, the prefects intrusive to demand justice, or apply for subsidies, writes to ministers to demand a freedom that new regulations erode ceaselessly. It is consulted by the Earl of Falloux before the promulgation of the 1850 legislation.

In 1836, he was asked by the government to prepare for the emancipation of slaves. Friars sailors boarded for Martinique, Guadeloupe, Senegal Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, French Guiana.

It is innovative in teaching agricultural, marine and industrial. It generalizes primary education in Britain. At the end of his life, the institute had 852 brothers and 349 schools.

On September 3, 1859, three brothers go Ploërmel for French Polynesia. They landed at Tahiti October 17, 1860 after thirteen months of travel. This is the last to send missionaries Jean-Marie de Lamennais who died December 26, 1860.

Biography of JM de Lamennais

Biography of JM de Lamennais


September 5, 1775 Pierre-Louis Robert de Lamennais (1743-1825) married Gratienne LORIN the Bush (1750-1787)

The couple had 6 children:
Louis-Marie (1776-1805)
Pierre-Jean (1778-1784)
JEAN-MARIE (1780-1860)
SATISFACTION (1782-1854)
Maria Josepha (1784-1851)
Gratien-Claude (1785 - 1818)

September 8, 1780 Birth and baptism of Jean-Marie St Malo - The family was then living in a hotel in the Rue Saint Vincent.

October 17, 1790 First Communion and confirmation of John de Lamennais, by Bishop Pressigny last Bishop of St Malo, and about to leave for exile. - John expresses his desire to be a priest.

December 15, 1793 The Arrival of Commissioner Carroll to St Malo. - Immediately begin the bloody executions. - Despite the immense service rendered to his countrymen, Mr. Robert de Lamennais, father of John and Feli, and narrowly escaped the guillotine. Jean-Marie serves as a liaison with refractory priests.

Until 1801 Jean-Marie studied under the direction of his uncle Saudrais, then with the abbots Engerran, Old and Father Cloriviere of ... Bishop advises Pressigny exile.


December 21, 1801 ordination as a subdeacon in a chapel of the Ursulines of Paris by Bishop Pressigny, returned from exile. A few days later, the Bishop of St Malo, sent his resignation to Pope Pius VII.

Subdeacon September 1802, Jean-Marie contributes actively with the abbots and Old Engerran, the founding of the College-Seminary of St. Malo. He gives courses in theology.

September 24, 1803 Ordination as deacon in Rennes, by Bishop de Maille.

February 25, 1804 Jean-Marie was ordained priest at Rennes. From that moment he probably part of the Society of Heart of Jesus, founded by Father Cloriviere of February 2, 1791

May 1804 Perhaps, first communion Feli. - At least he did made the usual age, in favor of detente that marked the religious reaction of Thermidor (July 1794 - October 1795).

November 3, 1804 Jean de Lamennais was appointed curate at the Cathedral St Malo. Preaching, teaching, ministry with ecumenical Protestant St Malo ... deplete its forces.

Rest in December 1805 to Chesnaie, along with Feli.

Jan-May 1806 Stay in Paris Foreign Missions, to facilitate the consultation of a physician, famous at the time - John attended classes of the Seminary of St. Sulpice. He had developed strong relationships with key faculty MM. Emery, Duclaux, Garnier ... and contracts lasting friendships with the abbots Tesseyrre, Brute of Rémur, Quelen ...

In November 1806 the Chesnaie, Feli and Jean grow their historical, literary, theological, and prepare materials for their future titles:

Reflections on the State of the Church in France in the eighteenth century and its current situation. - Tradition of the Church of the Institution of Bishops

November 13, 1807 In 33 articles, John of the masterfully paints a picture of a great Christian Reconstruction. - It's TORRENT OF WAVES IDEAS. The work of his life lies latent in the writing.

December 1807 Death of Abbot Engerran - Jean-Marie took up teaching at the Seminary of St Malo.

1807-1808 Preparation, in collaboration with Feli and publishing volumes: Reflections on the state of the Church in France. It is the development and updating of the reform program in the interviews of IDEAS TORRENT WAVES 1807. This book appears in July 1809, but was immediately withdrawn from sale. It will be played again in 1814 and 1819.

March 1809 In collaboration with Feli, translation and publication of spiritual guide, the work of the Benedictine Abbot Louis of Blois, spiritual author of the sixteenth century.

August 1809 New trip to Paris, Saint- Sulpice, with Brute.

Feli December 23, 1809, upon request, receive minor orders in Rennes

July 15, 1810 Father John was appointed an honorary canon of Rennes. That same year, Father Brute Rémur of leaves for the United States.

August 16, 1812 Closing Seminar of St Malo, following the imperial decree of November 11, 1811

1813 Deposit balance of the business of MM. de Lamennais and Saudrais - Jean-Marie deals with liquidation.

1814 last touches on the manuscript of the work common to John and Feli: Tradition of the Church of the Institution of Bishops, 3 volumes in 8 ° . Published in August 1814.


March 20, 1814 Bishop Caffarelli, Bishop of St. Brieuc, asks Jean de Lamennais private secretary,

in August 1814: Journey of John in Paris

January 11, 1815 Death of Bishop Caffarelli - Jean de Lamennais is elected by chapter, Chapter Vicar. He is 35 years, and became the Chief Executive of the diocese. It remained for 5 years.

Mandement January 13, 1815 in honor of Bishop Caffarelli and vigorous attacks against the religious policy of Napoleon I..

July 17, 1815 New command at the King's return. Harsh lessons to indifferent and thinkers of the time ...

September 14, 1815 Pastoral letter for compensation for excesses committed during the 100 days. These pastoral letters revealed a man who would not recoil on duty.

1815-1820 John de Lamennais administers the diocese of St. Brieuc. He organized the ecclesiastical retreats, parish missions, it activates the priestly recruitment, both based teaching congregations, struggle against the intrusion of civil power in ecclesiastical matters, refused to obey the orders of government officials are ignored whenever the rights of the Church.

He opens the Ursuline convent in various cities, colleges reorganized ecclesiastical Tréguier and Plouguernével - fight vigorously the establishment of mutual school (secular) in the diocese.

Feli December 23, 1815 is ordered sub-deacon in Paris - Jean-Marie expressed entirely foreign to that decision.

Feli March 9, 1816 was ordained priest at Vannes.

November 14, 1816 At the initiative of Father John, Miss Chaplain, Cartel, Conan, Bagot , entered the Congregation of the Demoiselles, caring orphanages and elementary education. This approach will emerge two female teachers congregations: the Sisters of Providence of St Brieuc and the Sisters of Our Lady of Providence, which later became the Religious of the Holy Family.

December 1817: Publication of first volume of the Essay on Indifference. In less than a year, 13,000 copies are sold. The book was translated into several languages.

January 1818 Opening of the Primary School Pordic, by Brother Paul (Mathurin Guyot Ploërmel), formed on the novitiate of Auray, by M. Deshayes,

December 25, 1818 Miss Cartel Conan, Chaplain, dedicated by private vows in the chapel of the Sanctuary, St Brieuc.

May 1819 Father 3 brothers Deshayes grants to P. de Lamennais, school of Dinan.

June 6, 1819 Covenant of union between MM. Deshayes and Lamennais. It is the birth of the Brothers of Christian Instruction.

June 15, 1819 Opening of the Novitiate of St. Brieuc: Initially 3 novices Tresvaux sent by the Abbot, Father de la Roche-Derrien . Only Yves le Fichant persevere and die young in the Institute. - As in Auray, the Christian Brothers of St Brieuc secondent P. Mennais to the intellectual and pedagogical training of future Brothers Ploermel.

August 15, 1819 Miss Cartel, Conan, Chaplain, Beauchemin, make their public religious profession. Miss Conan is elected Superior. - Will be called The Sisters "Daughters of Providence."

15 November 1819 Arrival of the Bishop Romagère, appointed Bishop of St. Brieuc, since November 1817. He arrived in St. Brieuc, Bishop of Romagère named Jean de Lamennais Vicar General.

September 9, 1820 At Auray common first retreat for the Brothers and those from Auray to St Brieuc. The Institute receives its official name: Brothers of Christian Instruction. His motto: God Alone - its distinctive habit - his Rule of Life - And at the end of the retreat is held the first public broadcast of the vow of obedience. Retirement is constitutive of the Institute.

January 31, 1821 Archbishop of Romagère accepts the resignation of John de Lamennais of his duties as Vicar General of the diocese.

March 25, 1821 The Sisters of Providence are the hands of Father de Lamennais, the constitutions of their institute, and say their first public vows.

aspirants and 55 May 1821 professed - including 24 Brothers in office - are participating in the second retreat of Auray. Fr Deshayes, elected Superior General of the two families mntfortaines in January 1821, for Saint Laurent Sevre (Vendée), with 9 and 1 novice vows. Five novices follow Father de Lamennais in St Brieuc and 5 others remain in Auray, under the direction of F. Ambrose.

Father de Lamennais became sole head of the Brothers of Britain.

1st May 1822 Louis XVIII granted to the Brothers of Christian Instruction legal permission for the 5 départements of Brittany. The Letter of obedience may stand as the Certificate of Competency.

1st August 1822 36 Brothers of Christian Instruction run 19 schools: 5 in Morbihan, 10 in the Cotes du Nord, 4 Ille-et-Vilaine.

November 9, 1822 Father Jean de Lamennais was appointed, in Paris, Vicar General of the Grand Chaplain of France. It will contribute to the appointment of 40 bishops and deny, inter alia, the seat of Quimper in 1823. During his stay in Paris, he will continue to deal solely Brothers and Sisters of Providence.

Novitiate in August 1823 and moved to replace the 2 Josselin Novitiates Auray and St. Brieuc.

March 20, 1824 John of the Lamennais is removed from office at the Grand Chaplain, having fought at St Brieuc and St Malo, the two government candidates during the general elections of 1824.

November 3, 1824 Check Ploërmel 10 3 novices and Brothers, from Josselin. They settled in the old Ursuline Convent, left without maintenance for 34 years. - On 16 November, Jean de Lamennais installs itself in the ruins of the convent. It will Ploërmel the administrative center of the Brothers who will soon be known as the Brothers Ploermel.

Lamennais 1824 John helped launch the magazine "The Catholic Memorial. Feli wrote to his brother often, until they found the newspaper L'Avenir


April-juillet1825 First idea of the Congregation of Priests of St Meen. The teachers at the small seminary of St Meen (Ille-et-Vilaine) thinking to unite in a religious association and seek the help of Jean de Lamennais, so well known among the clergy of France.

July 8, 1825 Bishop Lesquen , Bishop of Rennes, requires the group to St Meen, the addition of the Missionaries of Rennes. The Bishop gave John de Lamennais Letters of Vicar General and the responsibility to organize the fledgling congregation. - This activity is given as the direction of seminars, preaching, teaching in secondary schools.

From 1825 Training around Feli de Lamennais and Gerbet Father, what has been called "School mennaisienné", with its main center in the Chesnaie, in the immediate vicinity of Dinan.

1825-1828 Father the masterfully prepared gradually expanding the original purpose of the Congregation of Priests of St Meen and consider leaving his marriage with members of the School of Chesnaie, willing to devote their talents to the defense of the church in priestly and religious status.

September 1828 Volunteers from the School of Chesnaie enter the congregation of St Meen priests. - This will change its name to Congregation of St. Peter. It envisions a vast field of activity: to defend the Catholic Church over all lands and spread Catholicism through teaching, preaching, missions distant publications for all classes of society.

The January 1829 novitiate of the Congregation of St. Peter is prepared to Malestroit (Morbihan)

September 1830 The School of Chesnaie moved to Paris, College Juilly.

October 16, 1830 Feli de Lamennais launched the newspaper's future and gives it currency God and Freedom - The political and philosophical divide distributed by the Catholic opinion journal.

November 21, 1831 The "Pilgrims of Liberty" Feli de Lamennais, Lacordaire and Montalembert, depart for Rome, seeking approval Pope.

August 15, 1832 The Encyclical of Gregory XVI Mirari your disapproves certain positions of the Journal of Futures - Feli left the Congregation of St. Peter - complies, then changed his mind in making fine distinctions that does not admit the ecclesiastical authority. Jean, meanwhile, accepts the Pope's Encyclical.

August 26, 1833 During the retreat of the priests of St Peter and John before his colleagues made a public act of accession to the Encyclical your Mirari.

April 30, 1834 Despite repeated requests by friends of John and Feli, it publishes the Words of a Believer.

June 25, 1834 The Singulari our Encyclical of Gregory XVI condemns and Words of a believer and says the philosophical system of common sense very expensive to Feli de Lamennais. - He refuses to submit to the decision of Rome.

September 1834 Despite repeated declarations of submission, Jean de Lamennais in turn is suspected. - The congregation If Peter is dissolved by the Bishop of Rennes. - Abbe Coédro revived the first congregation of Priests of St Meen and became Superior. Bishop defends Jean de Lamennais to be part of this new Religious Society.

May 18, 1835 After refusing to submit to the Encyclical, Feli de Lamennais was associated with friends who are known anti-religious sentiments. He plans to meet - at least from time to time - to Chesnaie. John, his brother, is opposed to this project.

's Sister Lebreton June 1835 - from St Meen - separates the Daughters of Providence of Saint Brieuc founded the Congregation of Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of St Meen.

May 1836 Without agreement with John, Feli de Lamennais moved their common library - John managed to save some of the most valuable books he owned. On this occasion, the 2 brothers Lamennais saw each other for the last time, Feli refused, thereafter, to receive his brother in Paris.

Fruitful action

August 11, 1837 The French Government asks Brothers Ploërmel to prepare for instruction and Christian education, peaceful emancipation of slaves in all French colonies. - Father de Lamennais looking for 5 volunteers. Of the 60 present, 52 brothers give their name.

November 27, 1837 5 brothers leave Ploërmel founded the first school in Guadeloupe. The Institute then had 350 brothers and 160 schools. On 1 January 1830 there were 193 Brothers and 92 schools.

October 28, 1839 First shipment of Brothers in Martinique.

September 27, 1841 - The first brothers Ploërmel leave for Senegal.

May 1841 Commencement of the Work of the Brotherhood of Biscay - The first Brothers of Christian Instruction of Biscay, were trained Ploërmel, but remained independent of Ploërmel until 1876.

December 28, 1841 Death of Father Deshayes, a close friend of Jean de Lamennais, initiator and co-founder of the Institute of Josselin. The thumb of his right hand which had signed the Rule of the Brothers, was brought to Ploërmel to be tabled later in the tomb of Father de Lamennais.

April 19, 1842 Opening of the Brothers' schools to Josselin St. Pierre and Miquelon.

Ist February 1843 The Brothers Ploërmel arrive in Guyana, to found the first school in Cayenne

from 1825 to 1855 Jean de Lamennais lends active support the organization of several institutes of teachers like his own brothers in France, England, Belgium and even in Poland ...

February 2, 1843 Father de Lamennais Act signed his last will. It definitely sets the shape of his congregation, composed solely of Brothers and the Brothers who will govern after his death.

September 1846 Jean de Lamennais Lorient receives the Cross of the Legion of Honor for "services rendered to the youth France and the colonies ". 517 brothers participate in retirement.

December 16, 1847 The Father of Lamennais was struck by stroke when he began his mass at Guingamp.

Oct. 1848 The Brotherhood founder asks the Pope Pius IX approved the first of the Institute of Ploërmel .

December 24, 1848 Father de Lamennais welcomes Ploërmel 5 Applicants English, sent by the future Cardinal Wiseman, and intended to train the Brothers of Christian Instruction of England. The first 13 brothers of the new Institute were trained Ploërmel.

September 1850 The first Brothers of St. Mary Tinchebray, diocese of Sees (0rne) were trained in Josselin. The date of October 15, 1851 is chosen as the official founding of the Institute of teaching Brothers. Until 1880, the Brothers of Tinchebray remained independent of Ploermel.

January 7, 1851 decree laudatory S. Headquarters for the Institute of Josselin. The brothers are then numbering 600.

1st February 1851 Brief of His Holiness Pius IX in Jean de Lamennais, showering praise for the founder apostolic work carried out by its teachers institutes.

June 7, 1853 Father de Lamennais celebrates first Mass in the chapel of the Motherhouse of the Sisters of Providence, Saint Brieuc.

February 27, 1854 Died in Paris, Feli de Lamennais. His brother John, Ploërmel party to go to his bedside and learns to Rennes, the sad news, and returned to Josselin, overcome with fatigue and sorrow.

September 8, 1854 First mass celebrated in the chapel of the Brothers present Ploermel.

10 September 1856 - Consecration of the chapel of the Motherhouse Jacquemet by Bishop, Bishop of Nantes.

September 3, 1859 3 brothers leave Ploërmel for French Polynesia (Oceania). They landed in Tahiti, 17 October 1860, after 13 months away.

December 26, 1860 Death of Jean Marie de Lamennais at the Motherhouse Ploermel.

The brothers are among 852 schools and 349 run. - The Sisters of Providence have 60 nuns and run 5 schools.




O God, our Father,
you gave to Jean-Marie de Lamennais
a generous heart and an unwavering zeal
to make thy Son Jesus Christ
and his Gospel,
especially to children and youth.

Since we worship him
as the founder
of two congregations dedicated
to Christian education,
do it soon
declared Blessed.

Help us to follow his example
in the service of truth,
and deign to grant us,
through her intercession ,
such that at this moment
... we ask

through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Gabriel Deshayes

Gabriel Deshayes




Gabriel Deshayes est né le 6 décembre 1767 à Beignon, petit bourg rural du Morbihan, à la lisière de la forêt de Paimpont.

Lorsqu'éclate la Révolution française, il est toujours séminariste et est ordonné diacre en septembre 1790. Pour recevoir la prêtrise, il doit rejoindre Jersey où Mgr Le Mintier, évêque de Tréguier en exil, l'ordonne prêtre, le 4 mars 1792.

Il aurait pu attendre là. Il choisit le risque et reprend la route de la France, huit jours après son ordination. Il commence son ministère de prêtre proscrit, exposé aux plus graves dangers. Il retrouve plusieurs de ses collègues. Leur point de ralliement est la paroisse du Verger. Dans la plus grande discrétion, ils parcourent de nuit les campagnes, rassemblent les chrétiens dans leurs granges ou leurs greniers, pour la célébration de la messe et des sacrements.

Dans cette équipe, Gabriel est le plus jeune, le plus intrépide aussi, dit-on. Pour tromper les soldats de la Révolution, il se déguise ne meunier, en paysan qui manie la faux dans la lande bretonne, en valet de ferme que l'on envoie aux champs et que l'on appelle " Grand Pierre"! Il frôle plusieurs fois la mort.

Un jour, la maison où il se cache est entourée de soldats.: "Oui, oui, dit-il. Deshayes est ici, j'en suis bien sûr, moi ! Cherchons, citoyens". Et, il disparaît dans la foule.

Une autre fois, à peine est-il assis à la table d'un château avec son ami, l'abbé Georges, qu'une servante se précipite : "Les Bleus pleine cour !" Gabriel Deshayes saute par la fenêtre, cache son compagnon dans les broussailles, d'un bond franchit la douve et s'enfuit dans la campagne. Les bleus l'aperçoivent et arment leurs fusils. Les balles sifflent à ses oreilles sans l'atteindre. Ayant distancé ses poursuivants, il a le temps de troquer la tenue d'un paysan et de se saisir de sa serpe. Quand les gendarmes arrivent à sa hauteur, il leur indique, sans vergogne, la direction prise par le fuyard …

Une autre fois encore, il travaille tranquillement avec l'abbé Georges et un autre compagnon quand un messager vient les avertir : "Filez vite. On est sur vos traces. Le tribunal révolutionnaire vous attend." C'est le soir. Les trois amis sortent de leur retraite et empruntent la grand'route : c'est moins suspect. Justement, les gendarmes viennent droit sur eux et il fait pleine lune. Impossible de fuir. Les trois hommes se rangent silencieusement le long du fossé. Les gendarmes passent et ne voient rien ...

En bien d'autres occasions, Gabriel Deshayes échappe aux soldats qui le traquent et aux jours plus sereins du Consulat, il est disponible pour un ministère plus tranquille.


C'est en avril 1805 que Gabriel Deshayes arrive à Auray, paroisse de 3000 habitants. Il s'attaque à diverses urgences que son sens de Dieu et de l'homme lui font vite repérer.

Il aide à la restauration de l'hospice qui regroupe encore à cette époque vieillards, infirmes et enfants trouvés. Il se préoccupe des mendiants et des chômeurs et les enrôle pour un travail communautaire. Il ouvre une filature et crée un atelier de tissage pour les prisonniers. Son presbytère est toujours et le curé se dépouille de son manteau ou d'une couverture pour venir en aide à une famille nécessiteuse.

Dans les rues d'Auray, il croise des mal-entendants. A l'époque, on les appelle des sourds. Facilement, ils sont traités d'idiots ou de stupides. Gabriel Deshayes s'en émeut. Dès 1810, il confie les filles aux Sœurs de la Sagesse, à la Chartreuse qu'il vient d'acquérir. Plus tard, il charge les Frères de Saint Gabriel des garçons et développe son œuvre en faveur des aveugles et des mal-voyants. Sa vie durant, ce seront ses enfants préférés.
Dès 1816, il accueille dans son presbytère des jeunes gens qu'avec l'aide des Frères des Écoles chrétiennes il prépare au métier d'enseignant pour les campagnes bretonnes. Réunis aux recrues de l'abbé de la Mennais à Saint-Brieuc, ces jeunes forment le premier noyau de l'Institut des Frères de l'Instruction Chrétienne de Bretagne.
Comme le résume son évêque, Mgr de Pancemont : " L'abbé Deshayes ne va se coucher le soir que pour rêver aux nouvelles merveilles qu'il exécutera le lendemain". Et lui-même témoigne : "Je ne me suis jamais défié de la Providence. De son côté, elle ne m'a jamais manqué. "


Suite à un ensemble de circonstances, le Père Deshayes est appelé à Saint-Laurent-sur-Sèvre où, le 17 janvier 1821, il est élu Supérieur général des Pères Montfortains et des Sœurs de la Sagesse. Pendant vingt ans, il va remplir cette charge.

Dans le même temps, il s'occupe des Sœurs de l'Instruction chrétienne qu'il a fondées à Beignon et achète pour elles une propriété à Saint-Gildas-des Bois : ce sera leur maison mère. Bien vite, il confie la direction de son institut à un vicaire général de Nantes, l'abbé Angebault. De même, il laisse à l'abbé de la Mennais la haute direction des Frères de Ploërmel.

Il lui reste suffisamment d'ouvrage, car à Saint-Laurent-sur-Sèvre, il dirige les congrégations montfortaines, relance avec les Frères de Saint-Gabriel son œuvre d'instruction des campagnes commencée à Auray, fonde, dans le diocèse de la Rochelle, une congrégation de frères agriculteurs, les Frères de Saint François d'Assise et aide l'abbé Ormières à fonder l'institut des Sœurs de l'Ange Gardien, à Quillan, dans le diocèse de Carcassonne.

Rien ne pouvait ralentir son zèle. Une semaine avant sa mort survenue le 28 décembre 1841, il continue de faire des projets pour l'instruction des aveugles: "Vous pensez, peut-être, confie-t-il aux Sœurs de la Sagesse, que je suis bien vieux pour former tous ces projets : je le sais, mais quand je n'aurais que huit jours à vivre, je m'occuperais encore de bonnes œuvres."

Biography of Gabriel Deshayes

Biography of Gabriel Deshayes

CHILDREN: the shepherd of Beignon

February 21, 1764: Michel Deshayes (1735-1818) married Michelle Deshayes (1740-1773). The couple had 4 children:

Mathurine-Jeanne, born May 7, 1765
Gabriel, born December 6, 1767
Anne-Marie, born September 2, 1770
Michael, born May 9 1773.Il dies at the same time as his mother.

December 6, 1767: Born in the village of Beignon Gabriel Deshayes. He was baptized the same day. His father is a farmer and butcher campaign. When the mother dies at birth of fourth child, Gabriel has not yet 6 years.

Children: Gabriel attended the small school Beignon. When it has learned to read, write and count, his father entrusted him with the herding. For several years, he is a shepherd. And already, we see his attention to the poor beggar at the crossing, the young Gabriel gives everything he can get his hands on.


Around 1777 his father, noting the intelligence and the happy disposition of his son, confided to Father Gerard, president of Saint-Malo-de-Beignon, who welcomes him into the rectory and teaches him French and the rudiments of the Latin language.

To Gabriel Deshayes 1782 is taken to the small seminary of Saint-Servan, given the Vincentians Fathers. He studied humanities and philosophy.

Gabriel Deshayes in October 1787 between the major seminary of Saint-Meen-le-Grand, also directed this time by the Vincentians Fathers.

June 6, 1789 Gabriel Deshayes receives at St. Meen, orders minors by Bishop Cortois Pressigny, Bishop of Saint-Malo.

May 27, 1790 he was ordained subdeacon at St. Meen.

September 18, 1790 Ordination as deacon at St. Malo. He spent his long vacation in 1790 with his cousin, Father William, President of the Orchard, near Rennes.


July 12, 1790 The Constituent Assembly passes the Civil Constitution of the Clergy. Simple Deacon Gabriel Deshayes the oath is not required, but it is a liaison between the refractory priests begin to be worried.

1792: "Come on England"
with two former classmates at St Meen-le-Grand which Mr. George Gabriel Deshayes decides to win England. The bad weather led to Jersey, where the Bishop fled Mintier, Bishop of Treguier.

March 4, 1792 Gabriel Deshayes was ordained priest by Bishop Le Mintier. Eight days later, he returns to the streets of France, landed at Granville and crosses Britain on foot, to return to the Orchard.

1792-1801: the apostolate illegal.
"Grand'Pierre" Under the pseudonym Grand'Pierre The young priest Deshayes begins his priestly ministry banned. With several colleagues, they roam the countryside at night, bring together Christians in their attics or barns for the celebration of Mass and the sacraments.

In many circumstances, he succeeds, sometimes extreme accuracy, to escape the gendarmes in charge of the stalk or the soldiers started in pursuit.

April 10, 1801 The abbots Pierre Peltier and Gabriel Deshayes signal their entry into the church Paimpont-les-Forges, first as curate, as the second assistant. Gabriel Deshayes there two years, showing a great charity and doctrinal firmness.

May 1803. Vicar in Beignon
The Diocese of Saint-Malo is removed, the bishop of Vannes, Bishop Pancemont, vicar named Gabriel Deshayes Beignon, his home parish. Now it is part of the Diocese of Vannes.

Beignon At the vicar multiply as the days of the Terror. An epidemic is ravaging the parish, he hurried to the bedside. The famine every Sunday, he distributed to the poor, bread and meat, the equivalent of his perquisites of the week.

1804 while retaining his post as vicar of Beignon Gabriel Deshayes is asked by his bishop to accompany in his pastoral visits. He preached the Lent 1804 in the Cathedral of Vannes.

THE VICAR OF AURAY (1805-1821)

April 1805
Gabriel Deshayes arrives in the parish of Saint Gildas d'Auray, where the bishop is to appoint a priest.

The new priest quickly takes the measure of his new responsibilities as pastor of this parish 3000.

A priest office: "The St. Vincent de Paul of Britain"

To awaken the faith of the faithful, he launched a two-week mission. It regulates the illegitimate situations from the French Revolution.

From 1818, he organized the "Eternal Father" (a former convent that he bought) spiritual retreats for men and women.

The attention of Mr. Deshayes' s extends to all forms of poverty:

  • it helps to restore the home for the elderly
  • he opened a mill for the unemployed
  • with the municipality, it organizes road construction work done to the needy
  • He likes living conditions of prisoners and keeps up with the visits.
  • etc..

His rectory was a place of refuge where the poor convergence of the parish and surrounding areas. They distribute all he may possess.

August 12, 1807: "The Eternal Father"
Opening a school for girls in "Eternal Father", the former convent of the Cordeliers bought by Father Deshayes. The Sisters of Charity of St. Louis, founded in 1803 by Mrs Mole, also opened their first home outside the parent company of Vannes. It was at this until 1818, Father Deshayes organizes spiritual retreats.

January 1, 1811: "The Manéguen"
By dint of entreaties to their Superior General, Gabriel Deshayes gets three Christian Brothers for his parish. These are the first who returned to Britain since the Revolution. Their school Manéguen welcomes boys from the town and surrounding country.

The College of Auray.
In 1805, the arrival of M. Deshayes, Auray, the municipal college vegetate. In 1813, to avoid closure, Gabriel Deshayes been appointed as the chief abbot Guillevin, rector of St. Goustan neighboring parish of St. Gildas d'Auray. It gives his resignation during the Hundred Days, April 1, 1815. M. Deshayes replaced temporarily, then put in charge to Mr. Humphry, who held this position until 1830.

Sainte-Anne d'Auray: the sanctuary and the seminar.
On November 14, 1815, opens the church school Sainte-Anne d'Auray. The direction is entrusted to the Jesuit Fathers. In 1818, the school receives the official title of the Petit Séminaire de Sainte-Anne. This Father Deshayes, on behalf of the bishop, ensures the acquisition of the entire area.

Chartreuse d'Auray: "The father of the deaf-mutes."
After the Revolution, the first purchasers of Chartreuse monument to the rivalry between the Count of Blois and Count of Montfort for the duchy of Brittany, had begun to demolish the buildings. To avoid destruction, Father Deshayes bought in 1808, while the former convent and made a house of prayer and good works.

On June 15, 1814, he oversaw the removal of the bones of the "victims of Quiberon" Hundreds of emigrants and rebels captured and shot in 1795 in a meadow near.

But, above all, the Chartreuse, in 1810, Gabriel Deshayes together two or three dumb that it entrusts 1812, the Daughters of Wisdom. He brought from Paris Miss Duler, a disciple of the Abbe Sicard, director of the National Institution for Deaf-Mutes, to form the new mistresses. He says the boys to Mr Humphry. Later, two brothers will come to Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre.

The Founder of the Sisters of St. Gildas.
Michelle Wilhelm, distant cousin of Gabriel Deshayes entrusted his desire to religious life. This leads to the Augustinians Auray to accomplish his mission and complete his education.

May 5, 1807 Michelle William opened a school in Beignon. Soon, another girl comes to join her, Marie-Jeanne Crosnier.

November 8, 1820 Six young girls make their religious profession in the church of Beignon. This is the birth of the Sisters of Christian Education or the Sisters of St. Gildas.

October 1823 The new congregation accepts two new foundations, one in Avessac, Loire-Atlantique and the other Torfou at Diocese of Angers.

September 10, 1825 Installation of Sisters in their house-mother Pontchâteau.

1826 The founder, Michelle William, died at the age of 46.

October 1828 Father Deshayes met her sisters in their new parent company of St. Gildas. The congregation were now more than 70 religious institutions and placed in 14 thirty novices.

The congregation of St. Gildas, mainly teacher, also has sisters working and, more rarely, lay Brothers.

With the agreement in 1833 the bishop of Nantes, Father Deshayes, busy in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre, says the government of the congregation of St. Gildas Angebault Abbot, Vicar General of Nantes and later bishop of Angers. The Sisters of St. Gildas Abbe Angebault consider as their second founder.

Co-Founder of the Brothers of Christian Instruction.

Led by Gabriel Deshayes, Auray town quickly with institutions school essential. But what to do to the surrounding countryside? His repeated calls from the Christian Brothers left unanswered, Gabriel Deshayes decides to search for young people, train them and put them alone in the rectory, under the authority of the priest. On his way, he met Jean-Marie de Lamennais.

Beginning 1816: Arrival of the early entrants. Only Mathurin Provost agrees to continue and persevere. Other young people arrive. End 1816, are 5, 7 in 1817, 13 in 1818, more than 20 in 1819.

First schools 1817 Thenezay (Deux Sevres), Baud (Morbihan)

1818 Pordic (Côtes d'Armor) - Limerzel, Malestroit Josselin (Morbihan)

1819 Dinan (Côtes d'Armor) - Puméliau (Morbihan), Montauban-de-Bretagne (Ille-et-Vilaine)

May 10, 1817 Jean-Marie de Lamennais, Vicar of Saint-Brieuc Capitulary heard the many activities of the priest of Auray. On May 10, 1817, they are together in Saint-Brieuc. That same day, Gabriel Deshayes certificate a letter of M. de Lamennais the Superior General of the Brothers of Christian Schools to get brothers to Saint-Brieuc.

June 1817 M. de Lamennais moves Auray and includes Gabriel Deshayes to provide three young men in the novitiate of the Brothers of La Salle, a prerequisite for opening a community in Saint-Brieuc.

December 1817 The two abbots Gabriel Deshayes and Jean-Marie de Lamennais occur again, Saint-Servan, to participate in the mission organizes what Father George, the parish priest and friend of Father Deshayes. Must seize that opportunity Jean-Marie de Lamennais to get a brother for school Auray Pordic (Côtes d'Armor).

Gabriel Deshayes beginning in June 1819 arrived in St. Brieuc four brothers solicited by M. de Lamennais to open the school in Dinan.

June 6, 1819 Following their meeting, Gabriel Deshayes and Jean-Marie de Lamennais sign a treaty of union where the two priests, noting the convergence of their projects, align to direct their joint work emerging in order to "provide children with the people, especially those from the countryside of Brittany, teachers firmly righteous.

This date marks the birth of a new religious congregation.

September 1819 the brothers and novices Auray make their annual retreat in a local college. In Saint-Brieuc, retirement brothers Pordic and Dinan joined by the first novice Jean-Marie de Lamennais.

9-15 September 1820. "Great retreat" common Auray. The retreat brings together 40 to 50 brothers in the presence of two Superiors. The brothers received the name of Brothers of Christian Instruction, with the motto: Only God and the Rule. Twenty brothers participating for the first time by the vow of obedience.

January 17, 1821 Mr. Deshayes, elected Superior General of the congregations of Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre, must leave the UK.

May 1821 The annual retreat is advanced. It includes sixty brothers and novices. This is the farewell to Father Deshayes and surrender of the principal charge of the Institute in the hands of Jean-Marie de Lamennais.

Despite his new responsibilities, Mr. Deshayes remembered for his brothers in Britain. It was originally and it will stay on as co-superior until his death. Each year, he retired. Along with his friend, he obtained legal recognition in 1822. Two years later, he bought the Ursuline Convent in Ploërmel. Father of the landscape there Mennais novitiate and mother house.

Many early followers of Auray held major responsibilities in the congregation of the Brothers of Britain. Among them include Brother Ambrose Haiget The first Director General of the missionary work of the West Indies.


The Father Superior Monfortain
1820 The Father Duchesne was elected Superior General of the Montfort Fathers.

December 17, 1820 Letter from Father Duchesne Cure d'Auray, asking to become his assistant.

December 22, 1820 Death of Father Duchesne. The Montfort Fathers and the Sisters of Wisdom called the Father Deshayes in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre. After consulting his bishop, he accepts their proposal.

January 17, 1821 Gabriel Deshayes was elected Superior General of the congregations of the Fathers of the Society of Mary and the Sisters of Wisdom. "

Fathers are the number of 7 priests without vows and 4 Coadjutor Brothers. The Sisters have 778 religious and novices, divided into 96 houses.

1822 to 1830: parish missions

Despite the departure of three fathers in 1821, Father Deshayes resumed the tradition of parish missions. Until 1830, he took himself to a dozen missions, especially in Angers, Luzon, Vannes, Rennes and Saint Malo. The Revolution of 1830 interrupted for a time the parish missions. It resumed in 1837.

closed Retreats: In addition to missions, Father Deshayes organizes retreats, in continuity with its experience of Auray. By 1821, hundreds of women have retired to the Petit Holy Spirit. In 1822, men are also welcomed. In 1835, before the influx of retreatants, the reception is at High Grange.

Revision of the Rule

Since the Revolution, the Fathers of the Society of Mary are without vows. Gabriel Deshayes dream to elevate them into a religious institute. He undertook to revise the Rule of Father de Montfort. On 1 December 1834, 9 Fathers approve and sign the text of the new rule, and 5 abstaining.

On February 5, 1835, issue of the first annual vows.

On June 20, 1837, Bishop Soyer, bishop of Luzon, and approves the new Rule Constitutions are the explanation.

January 15 to May 25, 1825: Trip to Rome. The beatification of Father de Montfort

Father Deshayes undertaking a four month trip to Rome. He presented the work of Pope Montfort congregations and seeks support for the introduction of the beatification of Father de Montfort. On May 20, 1825, days after his departure, Leo XII publishes a short laudatory for the two congregations Montfort.

On August 4, 1829, the beatification of Father de Montfort was finally opened in Luzon.

In 1839, Father Dalin, the Society of Mary, wrote a new Life of Father de Montfort.

Beatification is decreed by Rome in 1888.

Around the 1830 Revolution.

Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre know delicate hours in 1830.

In 1828, sent by Charles X, the Duchess of Berry, mother of Count de Chambord his followers hailed as the future king visit triumphantly Vendee to rekindle the flame royalist. She stops at Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre and visit the two religious communities.

The Revolution of 1830 broke out. Louis-Philippe succeeded Charles X. In September 1832, even the Duchess of Berry wanders outlawed in the Vendee. Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre is suspected of giving asylum. An initial search took place in 1832, especially among fathers, then a second, more aggressive, focuses the Sisters of Wisdom. The magistrates and the soldiers leave empty handed. These facts illustrate the uncertain climate that prevails in Saint-Laurent in the 1830s: the recruitment of congregations and the exercise of their duties are felt for several years.

The Superior of the Daughters of Wisdom
According to a tradition going back to father Montfort, the Superior General of the Fathers of the Company is also superior of the Congregation of Sisters. At the same time, the two institutes of diocesan right remains. The newly appointed bishop of Lucon, Archbishop Soyer, disputes this and a dispute arises between St. Lawrence and Luzon about this form of government. The explanations given and the signs of true submission of monks and nuns will finally convince the bishop to be, now, a great defender works Montfort.

Father Deshayes, in connection with the Superior General, then exercises its role as the Higher Congregations of Sisters. He visited the community, chairing pensions, opening new facilities and develops the work so endearing of deaf-mutes.

At his death, 1668 Daughters of Wisdom work in schools, shelters for children, deaf institutions and dumb, hospitals, prisons.

The work of Deaf-Mutes.
By calling in 1812, the Sisters of Wisdom to deal with some dumb at the Chartreuse d'Auray, Father Deshayes never suspected certainly not the importance that this initiative would take in his life. What has he not done for his "dear deaf-mutes? The Brothers of St. Gabriel were quickly associated with this noble task.

The first school of deaf mute after the monastery, established in 1830 in Pont-Achard, near Poitiers. There followed a new foundation to Orleans in 1835 and at Loudon, Lille and Soissons. The zeal of the Superior was admirably supported by one of its missionaries, Father Laveau, he detached to the Ministry exclusive and worked hard to train teachers.

A dumb blind having fallen, Father decided to keep Deshayes and now involve blind deaf-mutes. Brothers and Sisters continue to this day, this beautiful work.

The lay brothers of the Holy Spirit.
Upon the arrival of Father Deshayes in Saint-Laurent, the lay brothers were three in number, which you can add a fourth , a former monk expelled from his monastery by the Revolution, holding school in town. One of the brothers share in 1821, another died in 1822.

The arrival of a dozen novices Auray, in the summer of 1821, will revitalize this part of the work of Montfort. New recruits mingled with the recruits from Auray and commitment, according to their talents and their desires, whether in education or in manual work.

The foundation of the Brothers of St. Gabriel
The March 17, 1821 brothers and Pierre-Marie Augustin, novice Auray since February 1820, arrived in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre, with Father Deshayes. They are graciously welcomed by the missionaries and sisters.

Pentecost 1821 Another group of two novices, five candidates, with their novice Auray, brother Peter, in turn joined Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre. The two novices are brothers Bernard and Hilarion applicants called Athanasius, François-Paul, Jean-Marie, Jerome and Yves. Brother Augustine says in his memoirs: "It came three au four others in Britain toward the end of the summer."

In 1822 these young people from Britain are in addition to young Vendée. At the end of the year, they are 22 in total.

September 17, 1823 Royal Approval of the new congregation of the Brothers of Christian Instruction of the Holy Spirit. Just as the congregation of Britain, it is recognized as charitable organization devoted to teaching, the five departments in the Maine-et-Loire, Vienne, Deux-Sevres, Charente and Vendee Below.

Brother Peter, master of novices according to his original request, returned to Britain.

September 22, 1824 Occupation thirty religious brethren. They take the three vows, unlike those in Britain who do the vow of obedience.

First Father Deshayes foundations can begin to meet the demands of the founding of Vendee priests: Beaupreau, Montmorillon then Vihiers, Yzernay, Saintes Jallais Saint-Pierre-en Retz, Champdeniers, Scorb-Clairvaux, etc ...

The Father can not refuse Deshayes Debausset Bishop, former Bishop of Vannes, archbishop of Aix, the sending of three brothers in Salon. A novitiate is located and has a score of subjects soon. But many challenges await this new site.

1825 Brother Augustine, who comes from Britain, was appointed director of brothers and brother Simeon, rookie of St. Lawrence, was appointed master of novices. These appointments would not resolve all the tensions from the cohabitation of brothers and brothers working teachers promote group unity.

1835 The house of the Holy Spirit becoming too small for both groups, the brothers moved to the teachers Supiot house, renamed Saint-Gabriel House while the brothers are working in the Holy Spirit. A new rule is printed, comparable in all respects like that of 1823 to the Brothers Ploermel.

1841 In twenty years of generalship, P. Deshayes has established 76 primary schools. In 1841, 47 remain open with 99 teaching brothers.

Last Foundation: brothers farmers.
In November 1839 when the Government is promoting "agricultural colonies", the Father Deshayes based in Saint-Laurent-sur-Sevre, the Brothers of St. Francis Assisi "intended to serve the poor in hospitals, religious houses and rectories for everything concerning the care of domestic and agricultural work.

1841 Too busy with other congregations, the Father entrusts the management Deshayes to Abbe Fournier, pastor of St. Martin-de-Saintonge. The parent company moved to Saint-Genis de Saintonge.

1899 The new congregation was never large and, in 1899, it merged with the Salesian Fathers: The brothers were then at number 17.

The last few years.

The Sisters of the Guardian Angel
Ormières Abbe, a professor at the minor seminary of Carcassonne, had opened a small school in Quillan in his homeland. Wanting to develop his work, he addressed the Father Deshayes whose reputation is known to him. It eventually win support of the Sisters of St. Gildas three nuns who lend to the new foundation. This was the beginning of a new congregation: the Sisters of the Guardian Angels, whose appreciation for the Father Deshayes still alive.

Other debt of gratitude:
The community of Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Saint Jacut based Angelique in 1816 by the Deaf, vegetated and dreamed of joining another congregation. Retrieved, Father Deshayes, having prayed at length and listened to all the sisters, comforted in their mission: "Your work is God's work. Keep what you are."

The Sisters of St. Mary of Torfou founded by Father Charles Foyer diocese of Angers, owe their birth to the Father Deshayes, who agreed to send two Sisters of St. Gildas to help the beginning always difficult.

August 1841 Father Deshayes, feeling his strength decline, therefore, in the occasion of the retirement Ploërmel where he goes every year, an emotional farewell to the brothers of Josselin and his friend and partner, Jean-Marie Lamennais.

December 15, 1841 Gravely ill, he dictated in his will that Brother Simeon it approves and countersigned by him.

December 26, 1841 He received last rites.

December 28, 1841 After ten hours of fever, and a short agony, Gabriel Deshayes ends in serenity.

~ 1860 ~

~ 1860 ~

1) 05 January in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania (USA)

professed priest, Redemptorists;

archbishop of Philadelphia;

founder, Sisters of Saint Francis of Philadelphia

born: 28 March 1811 in Prachatitz, Jihoceský kraj (Czech Republic)

competent diocese: Philadelphia/Ceské Budĕjovice

CCS protocol number: 855

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process: 1886

closing of informative process: 1888

decree on writings:

introduction of cause: 15 December 1895

opening of apostolic process: 25 October 1897

decree “non-cultu”: 28 June 1898

closing of apostolic process: 13 June 1902

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes:

antepreparatory congregation: 16 May 1911

preparatory congregation: 08 April 1919

general congregation: 29 November 1921

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 11 December 1921

opening of informative process on first miracle for beatification:
closing of informative process on first miracle for beatification:
opening of informative process on second miracle for beatification:
closing of informative process on second miracle for beatification:

decree on validity of informative processes on miracles:
session of medical consultants:
antepreparatory congregation on miracles:
preparatory congregation on miracles:
general congregation on miracles:
promulgation of decree on miracles:

beatification: 13 October 1963

opening of cognitional process on miracle for beatification: 1971 (Philadelphia)
closing of cognitional process on miracle for beatification: 1971
decree on validity of cognitional process on miracle: 26 October 1973
session of medical consultants:

commission of CCS officials and consultants: 01 June 1976
plenary session of CCS cardinals and bishops: 13 July 1976
papal confirmation of plenary session sentence:
promulgation of decree on miracle: 13 November 1976

perfecta ac diutina sanatione pueri Michaëlis Patricii Flanigan, annorum sex, ab incurabili sarcomate ab Ewing nuncupato dexterae tibiae, cum multiplici metastasi pulmonari bilaterali, et ascendentis partis maxillae sub finem mensis Decembris anni 1963 in valetudinarium Philadelphiense, vulgo appellatum Mercy Hospital

canonization: 19 June 1977

information: St. John Neumann Shrine, 1019 N. 5th St., Philadelphia, PA 19123, USA

Sisters of Saint Francis of Philadelphia, 609 S. Convent Road, Aston, PA 19014, USA


2) 02 April in Padua (Italy)

founder, Franciscan Elizabethan Sisters
born: 09 April 1790 in Bassano del Grappa, Vicenza (Italy)

competent diocese: Padua

CCS protocol number: 584

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of diocesan inquiry:

closing of diocesan inquiry:

decree on writings: 02 April 1964

session of historical consultants: 10 March 1987

submission of Positio to CCS:

decree on validity of diocesan inquiry: 11 March 1988

congress of theological consultants: 28 June 1988

ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops:

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 18 February 1989

opening of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification:
closing of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification:
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle: 21 April 1989
session of medical consultants: 15 November 1989
congress of theological consultants: 23 March 1990
ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops: 19 June 1990
promulgation of decree on miracle: 10 July 1990

beatification: 04 November 1990

postulator: Fra Giovangiuseppe Califano, ofm

petitioner: Suore Francescane Elisabettine, Via Beato Pellegrino, 40, 35137 Padova, ITALY

3) 15 April in Florence (Italy)

widow; founder, Poor Daughters of the Holy Stigmata of Saint Francis
born: 27 May 1809 in Florence (Italy)

competent diocese: Florence

CCS protocol number: 137

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

introduction of cause: 23 January 1918

decree “non-cultu”: 12 June 1918

opening of apostolic process:

closing of apostolic process:

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes: 16 July 1938

decree on writings: 03 December 1944

submission of Positio to CCS: 1995

session of historical consultants:

congress of theological consultants: 25 February 2003

ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops:

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 12 April 2003

opening of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification:
closing of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification:
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle: 24 June 1994

session of medical consultants: 22 April 2004

postulator: Fra Giovangiuseppe Califano, ofm

petitioner: Povere Figlie delle Sacre Stimmate, Viale del Forte Trionfale, 26, 00135 Roma, ITALY


4) 22 May in Verona (Italy)

founder, Minim Sisters of Charity of Our Lady of Sorrows
born: 26 October 1788 in Verona (Italy)

competent diocese: Verona

CCS protocol number: 1036

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

decree on writings: 21 December 1968

introduction of cause:

decree “non-cultu”:

opening of apostolic process:

closing of apostolic process:

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes:

submission of Positio to CCS:

session of historical consultants:

congress of theological consultants:

ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops:


petitioner: Sorelle Minime della Carità di Maria Addolorata, Via S. Maria in Organo, 2, 37129 Verona, ITALY


5) 18 June in Zahleh, Al Biqā‘ (Lebanon)


professed priest, Jesuits
born: 23 May 1812 in Villefrancon, Haute-Saône (France)
professed religious, Jesuits
born: 07 April 1804 in Gavassetto, Reggio Emilia (Italy)
ELYĀS YŪNES (الياس يونس)
professed religious, Jesuits
born: 1830 in El Metn, Jabal Lubnān (Lebanon)
HABĪB MAKSŪD (ﺣﺒﻳﺐ ﻣﻜﺴﻮﺫ)
professed religious, Jesuits
born: 27 September 1810 in Zahleh, Al Biqā‘ (Lebanon)
ĀLFŪNS HAYDAR HUBAYSH (ألفونس حبيش حيدر)

professed religious, Jesuits
born: 31 May 1815 in Ghazīr, Kesrwan, Jabal Lubnān (Lebanon)

competent diocese: Alep of the Latins

CCS protocol number: 441

type of cause: martyrdom

opening of informative process: 12 October 1932

closing of informative process:

nihil obstat:

decree on validity of informative process:

submission of Positio to CCS:

session of historical consultants:

congress of theological consultants:

ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops:


petitioner: Pères Jésuites, Rue de l’Université Saint-Joseph, BP 166 775 – Achrafieh, Beyrouth, 110 2150 LEBANON


6) 23 June in Turin (Italy)

priest of the archdiocese of Turin
born: 15 January 1811 in Castelnuovo d’Asti (Italy)

competent diocese: Turin
CCS protocol number: 409

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

decree on writings:

introduction of cause: 23 May 1906

decree “non cultu”:

opening of apostolic process:

closing of apostolic process:

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes:

antepreparatory congregation:

preparatory congregation:

general congregation:

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 27 February 1921

opening of informative process on first miracle for beatification:
closing of informative process on first miracle for beatification:
opening of informative process on second miracle for beatification:
closing of informative process on second miracle for beatification:

decree on validity of informative processes on miracles:
session of medical consultants:
antepreparatory congregation on miracles:
preparatory congregation on miracles:
general congregation on miracles:
promulgation of decree on miracles:

beatification: 03 May 1925

opening of informative process on first miracle for canonization:
closing of informative process on first miracle for canonization:
opening of informative process on second miracle for canonization:
closing of informative process on second miracle for canonization:

decree on validity of informative processes on miracles:
session of medical consultants:
antepreparatory congregation on miracles:
preparatory congregation on miracles:
general congregation on miracles:
promulgation of decree on miracles:

canonization: 22 June 1947

information: Santuario della Consolata, Via M. Adelaide, 2, 10122 Torino, ITALY


7) 9-10 July in Damascus (Syria)

Fransis Masabki and 2 companions




professed priest, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 05 May 1804 in San Martín de Ollas, Burgos (Spain)
professed priest, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 29 March 1803 in Borjas, Gandía, Valencia (Spain)
professed priest, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 21 September 1827 in Ramsau, Zell am See, Salzburg (Austria)
professed priest, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 10 January 1814 in Villarejo de Salvanés, Madrid (Spain)
professed priest, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 28 April 1827 in Lorca, Murcia (Spain)
professed priest, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 10 September 1830 in Aguilar de la Frontera, Córdoba (Spain)
professed religious, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 26 August 1802 in Chopo, Alpuente, Valencia (Spain)
professed religious, Franciscan Friars Minor
born: 25 July 1808 in Moire, Carballeda, Orense (Spain)
FRANSĪS MASĀBKĪ (ﻲﻗﺑﺎﺳﻣ ﺱﻳﺳﻧﺮﻓ) (*)
layperson of the archeparchy of Damascus of the Maronites; married
born: ? in Damascus (Syria)
‘ABD AL-MUTĪ MASĀBKĪ (ﻲﻗﺑ ﺎﺳﻣ ﻲﺗﻣﻟﺍ ﺩﺒﻋ) (*)
layperson of the archeparchy of Damascus of the Maronites; married
born: ? in Damascus (Syria)
RŪFAYĪL MASĀBKĪ (ﻲﻗﺑﺎﺳﻣ ﻝﻳﺌﺎﻓﻭﺮ) (*)
layperson of the archeparchy of Damascus of the Maronites
born: ? in Damascus (Syria)

competent diocese: Damascus of the Latins/Damascus of the Maronites

CCS protocol number: 1740

type of cause: martyrdom

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

introduction of cause: 17 December 1885

opening of apostolic process:

closing of apostolic process:

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes: 11 June 1924

decree on writings: 23 July 1924

decree “non cultu”: 23 July 1924

antepreparatory congregation: 18 August 1925

preparatory congregation: 19 January 1926

general congregation: 17 April 1926

promulgation of decree on martyrdom: 02 May 1926; 07 October 1926 (*)
beatification: 10 October 1926

postulator: Fra Giovangiuseppe Califano, ofm

petitioner: St. Saviour’s Monastery, St. Francis St., 1, P.O. Box 186, 91001 Jerusalem, ISRAEL
[1895: Salvatore Lilli from Cappadocia and 7 Armenian Companion Martyrs]


8) 31 July in Zula, Semenawi Keih Bahri (Eritrea)

professed priest, Vincentians;

apostolic vicar of Abyssinia (now Addis Ababa)
born: 09 October 1800 in San Fele, Potenza (Italy)

competent diocese: Addis Ababa
CCS protocol number: 9

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process: 1891

closing of informative process: 1894

decree on writings: 01 May 1902

introduction of cause: 13 July 1904

decree “non cultu”: 28 June 1905

opening of apostolic process: 1904

closing of apostolic process: 1913

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes: 09 December 1915

antepreparatory congregation: 02 June 1931

preparatory congregation: 09 April 1935

general congregation: 16 July 1935

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 28 July 1935

opening of informative process on first miracle for beatification:
closing of informative process on first miracle for beatification:
opening of informative process on second miracle for beatification:
closing of informative process on second miracle for beatification:

decree on validity of informative processes on miracles:
session of medical consultants:
antepreparatory congregation on miracles:
preparatory congregation on miracles:
general congregation on miracles:
promulgation of decree on miracles:

beatification: 25 June 1939

opening of cognitional process on miracle for beatification:
closing of cognitional process on miracle for beatification:
decree on validity of cognitional process on miracle:
session of medical consultants:

commission of CCS officials and consultants:
plenary session of CCS cardinals and bishops:
papal confirmation of plenary session sentence:
promulgation of decree on miracle:
canonization: 26 October 1975

information: St. Justin de Jacobis v. Provincial House, P.O. Box 364, Asmara, ERITREA


9) 10 August in Agrigento (Italy)


professed religious, Redemptorists

born: 06 October 1793 in Maschito, Potenza (Italy)

competent diocese: Agrigento

CCS protocol number:

type of cause: heroic virtues

nihil obstat:

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

postulator: Rev. Antonio Marrazzo, cssr

petitioner: Associazione Pro Loco “Fra Rosario Adduca”, Via Dante, 25, 85020 Agrigento, ITALY


10) 11 October in Rome (Italy)

cofounder, Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin
born: 07 April 1823 in Olchowiec, Lubuskie (Poland)

competent diocese: Warsaw
CCS protocol number: 580

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

nihil obstat:

decree on validity of informative process:

submission of Positio to CCS:

session of historical consultants:

congress of theological consultants:

ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops:

postulator: Fra Zbigniew Suchecki, ofmconv

petitioner: [see 1911:Marcelina Darowska (Maria Marcelina of the Immaculate Conception)]


Note: The decree to translate the transumptum into French was issued on 06 November 1970.

11) 29 October in Secondigliano, Naples (Italy)

priest of the archdiocese of Naples;
founder, Missionaries of the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary
born: 19 October 1791 in Secondigliano, Naples (Italy)

competent diocese: Naples

CCS protocol number: 818

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process:

closing of informative process:

decree on writings:

introduction of cause: 18 December 1884

decree “non cultu”:

opening of apostolic process:

closing of apostolic process:

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes:

antepreparatory congregation:

preparatory congregation:

general congregation:

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 04 October 1974

opening of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification: 07 July 1999
closing of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification: 15 October 1999
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle: 10 December 1999
session of medical consultants: 30 March 2000
congress of theological consultants: 03 July 2000
ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops: 09 January 2000
promulgation of decree on miracle: 24 April 2000
beatification: 14 April 2002

opening of diocesan inquiry on miracle for canonization: 10 November 2004 (archdiocese of Naples)
closing of diocesan inquiry on miracle for canonization: 10 October 2005
(archdiocese of Naples)
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle: 20 January 2006
session of medical consultants: 05 October 2006
congress of theological consultants: 19 December 2006
ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops: 05 June 2007
promulgation of decree on miracle: 06 July 2007

spontanea sanatione dominae Annae Russo, anno 2003 in Secundiliano, a "sterilità primaria da anavulazione cronica, resistenete alla terapia medica chirurgica, in paziente con utero unicorene-unicolle rudimentale, esitata in gravidanza insorta spontaneamente e proseguita con evoluzione fisiologica con parto pretermine all 36a settimana, senza alcuna trattamento."

canonization: 12 October 2008

Missionari dei Sacri Cuori di Gesù e di Maria, Via dei Falegnami, 23, 00186 Roma, ITALY

Missionari dei Sacri Cuori di Gesù e di Maria, Via Dante, 2, 80144 Secondigliano (NA), ITALY
[1898: Raffaele Mennella]

12) 03 December in Trent (Italy)

bishop of Trent
born: 15 April 1777 in Bolzano (Italy)

competent diocese: Trent
CCS protocol number: 404

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process: 1873

closing of informative process: 1877

decree on writings: 16 April 1885

introduction of cause: 27 May 1886

decree “non cultu”: 14 March 1890

opening of apostolic process: 1890

closing of apostolic process: 1896

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes: 03 July 1898

antepreparatory congregation: 21 February 1905

preparatory congregation: 1937

general congregation: 18 June 1943

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 14 July 1968

opening of informative process on miracle for beatification: 1908
closing of informative process on miracle for beatification: 1908
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle: 27 September 1908
session of medical consultants: 01 April 1992
congress of theological consultants: 19 June 1992
ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops: 03 November 1992
promulgation of decree on miracle: 21 December 1992
beatification: 29 April 1995


petitioner: Arcidiocesi di Trento, Fierra 1, 38100 Trento, ITALY

13) 21 December in Koblenz (Germany)

founder, Brothers of Mercy of Our Lady of Perpetual Help

born: 25 February 1819 in Weitersburg, Vallendar (Germany)

competent diocese: Trier
CCS protocol number: 401

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process: 26 March 1926

closing of informative process:

session of historical consultants: 06 May 1981

submission of Positio to CCS: 1983

congress of theological consultants: 03 May 1983

ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops: 05 July 1983

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 24 September 1983

opening of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification:
closing of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification:
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle: 18 February 1983
session of medical consultants: 06 April 1984
congress of theological consultants: 17 July 1984
ordinary congregation of cardinals and bishops: 20 November 1984
promulgation of decree on miracle: 14 December 1984
beatification: 23 June 1985


petitioner: Barmherzige Brüder von Maria-Hilf, Nordallee 1, 54292 Trier, GERMANY

14) 26 December in Ploërmel, Morbihan (France)

priest of the diocese of Vannes;

founder, Brothers of Christian Instruction of Ploërmel
and Daughters of Providence of Saint-Brieuc
born: 08 September 1780 Saint-Malo, Ille-et-Vilaine (France)

competent diocese: Vannes
CCS protocol number: 426

type of cause: heroic virtues

opening of informative process: 07 October 1899

closing of informative process: 29 August 1901

decree on writings: 11 December 1907

introduction of cause: 22 March 1911

opening of apostolic process: 31 July 1912

decree “non cultu”: 10 March 1915

closing of apostolic process: 1927

decree on validity of informative and apostolic processes: 05 June 1936

antepreparatory congregation: 23 July 1946

preparatory congregation: 25 May 1965

general congregation: 21 June 1966

promulgation of decree on heroic virtues: 15 December 1966

opening of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification: 13 November 2009 (archdiocese of Buenos Aires)
closing of diocesan inquiry on miracle for beatification: 17 December 2009
(archdiocese of Buenos Aires)
decree on validity of diocesan inquiry on miracle:

postulator: Bro. Delfín López, ficp

petitioner: Frères de l’Instruction Chrétienne de Ploërmel, 1 bd Foch, BP 35, 56801 Ploërmel, FRANCE
Filles de la Providence de Saint-Brieuc
36, ave. de Fontainebleau, 94270 Le Kremlin-Bicêtre, FRANCE



November 18, 2007

From November 18 to 26 stands in the Congregation (Northern Hemisphere) the great Novena to Father Lamennais. This is an opportunity to raise awareness, in schools and colleges, the life and works of our Founder Principal, and pray for his beatification.

Provinces have to Brothers and animation school records. You can also visit the websites mennaisiens (see
Links ), specifically:

Provincia Na Sa del Pilar (Spain, Chile, Bolivia)
Network Mennaisien (France)

From November 18 to 26 stands in the Congregation (Northern Hemisphere) the great Novena to Father Lamennais. This is an opportunity to raise awareness, in schools and colleges, the life and works of our Founder Principal, and pray for his beatification.

Provinces have to Brothers and animation school records. You can also visit the websites mennaisiens (see
Links ), specifically:

Provincia Na Sa del Pilar (Spain, Chile, Bolivia)
Network Mennaisien (France)

de La Mennais

de La Mennais
La Mennais



Our motto

Our motto

It was during the retreat of Auray in 1820 that the Brothers of Christian Instruction given at the same time as their names and Rule, this motto GOD ALONE, they also share with other congregations as the Montfort Fathers, the Daughters of Wisdom or the Sisters of Charity.

Very soon, the Abbe de Lamennais seems fascinated by the motto: God Alone. This formula also came from his studies and his reading, especially Boudon and Louis de Blois. It comes naturally in his correspondence, as in the letter of 1 September 1820 to his friend, the Brute Rémur:

"God alone! Oh, everything else is nothing ...
Nothing, nothing, God alone, God alone! "

Throughout his life, his deep faith expressed through his words and his inspiring action and its commitment to serve the Church and the world, especially young people:

"Let's be God! Do everything for God.
God alone, God alone!
What, God alone does not suffice us? "

So he naturally adopts this motto for his congregation of Brothers.
It invites them to seek the will of God in all things, thus giving meaning to their commitment to children and youth.

"Bring everything to God, do nothing in light of eternity: that this is your only thought."

"Work as if everything depended on you. And yet the success that wait on God alone."

La Mennais Brothers LOGO

La Mennais Brothers LOGO

La Mennais Mother House

La Mennais Mother House
La Mennais Brothers House

CONGREGATION-------------------------------The General Council

The General Council

The general government consists of the Institute of Superior General, members of its Board and general services of the Congregation

Brother Superior General and the three brothers wizards are elected by the General Chapter. The congregation held its last general chapter at Rome from 1 to March 23, 2006. On this occasion, the General Council has been totally renewed.

The Brothers of the General Council,
elected in terms of year 2006

Fr Yannick Houssay
Superior General
Miguel Angel Merino
Gildas Prigent

Gerard Byaruhanga

The Superior General seeks to promote the unity of the congregation, the religious vitality of the Brothers and their faithfulness to the spirit of the Founders and the mission of the Institute and the guidelines of General Chapters ..

The brothers wizards to help develop the policy of the Institute of thoughtful and the quality of their discernment. Apart from visits to the Provinces of the Congregation Council members now reside in Rome, which may make more frequent meetings of the Council so far fall into three annual sessions.

The last General Chapter has redefined the role and function of the brother wizard. They remain the Advisors Brother Superior General in the Government of the congregation and give their opinions on issues discussed at Council. But they are no longer responsible for a particular geographical area or language of the congregation, although they may receive a specific mandate of Brother Superior General to accompany a particular province. They will be responsible for the animation of the Congregation on matters entrusted to their care, especially in the areas of charisma and a shared mission, and vocation training.


Superior General

The General Council

Superior General

The brother Yannick Houssay was born February 28, 1949, at Plélan-le-Grand (Ille-et-Vilaine, France). He entered the novitiate, July 31, 1969 and professed perpetual, October 16, 1977.

His career began in 1973 to Bain-de-Bretagne. He then taught a year at the school Derval before spending two years of military cooperation in Haiti. Upon his return he found the juniorate Derval stayed there for six years. He was appointed to the service of vocations for the province of Rennes, a position he held for seven years.

From 1989 to 1991, he completed his theological training at the Catholic University of Angers, before being appointed Provincial of the Province of Rennes.

At the merger of the provinces of France, in 1995, he became the Provincial of the new Province of St. John the Baptist. At the head of a united provincial team, he set up new structures of leadership in communities and works at a time when cooperation with the laity is becoming increasingly important at lower forces of the Province and the development of shared mission. Brother John Paul Peuzé succeeded him as superior of the Province of St. John the Baptist in 2004.

> Trade FIC - The Blog fu F. Yannick Houssay

The General Council

The General Council

Brother Miguel Angel Merino - Wizard

's brother Miguel Angel Merino was born in Reinosa (Cantabria-Spain) March 31, 1947. He attended the school for young brothers Reinosa then juniorate of Nanclares. He entered the novitiate in 1964 and made his vows 18 July 1971. It follows the normal school in Vitoria and start teaching in Portugalete small and quickly became the trainer of juniorate Nanclares.

He studied theology at the Gregorian University in Rome. He then turned his attention to the scholastic training. He was then director of the School of Portugalete and became Provincial Deputy then provincial of the province of Nuestra Señora del Pilar from 1988. In 1995 he was called to lead the year renovation of the congregation.

Since 2004, he joined Madrid as a professor of philosophy and religion. He is very close and friendly to all. He has worked hard on the spirituality mennaisienne for brothers and laymen. All those who know him think he is a great asset to the congregation.

The General Council

The General Council

Brother Gildas Prigent - Assistant

Born in 1958 in Douarnenez, Brother Gildas joined the congregation in 1979. History graduate, fulfilling his military service as a volunteer at Man in Ivory Coast where he taught for three years at the Jean de Lamennais newly founded by the brothers of the province of Rennes.

After obtained a Master of Divinity at the University of Lyon, he taught at the seminary Ploërmel from 1989 to 1991. At that time, he returns to Africa, teaches at the College of Saint Athanasius of Christian Brothers in Dapaong, then became director of the FIC Scholasticate Abidjan in Cote d'Ivoire, trainer and Secretary General CELAF (Centre d'Etudes Lassalle of Francophone Africa). Since 2001 he is the Superior of the Vice Province of West Africa (Benin, Côte d'Ivoire, Senegal, Togo).

The General Council

The General Council

Brother Byaruhanga Gerard - wizard

Brother Gerard Byaruhanga (which means"For-God the Creator" ) was born on February 14, 1958 at Nyakalongo, Kibale District, Uganda. In 1976, in Kampala, where he studied, he became acquainted with the FIC House masterfully in the church they attend. F. Peter puts Katanga in connection with F. Deo Gratias Ssekitooleko, recruiter time, and for four years, F. Gerard did his training in religious life at Kisubi, before being placed in Ibanda in 1980.

Then he came to Rome where he studied philosophy and theology at the Angelicum. He landed a degree in theology before returning home in 1985. He teaches at St. Mary's College and the premise, Kisubi, then became director of the premise and was elected to the Provincial Council.

In 1988, he took courses in animation and spiritual retreats in Kisubi before heading to England one year of study in counseling at the Institute St-Anselme, Kent. Back in 1990 Kisubi, F. Gerard teaches theology and spiritual discernment in Uganda Spiritual Training Center and became its director for three years before being appointed Provincial Superior of the Province Ste-Therese-de-Jesus-the child in 1994. Since 2000, F. Gerard took the office of director of seminary Charles-Jules Poitras.



Becoming a Brother of Christian Instruction

Becoming a Brother of Christian Instruction

From our Rule...

Formation involves three major orientations: human and Christian culture, spiritual development and preparation for educational and apostolic work. The close bonds among these orientations and their interdependence should be kept in mind. (Constitutions, # 55)

Young Brothers continue their spiritual formation and their studies, particularly in theology and catechetics. They acquaint themselves with the apostolic and professional activities of the Congregation and strive to acquire an adequate critical understanding of the values and norms which govern the thoughts and actions of their society. (Constitutions, # 78)

Personal formation is an unending process/ Throughout their lives, the Brothers try to progress in the service of God, the Church and society. Whenever possible, therefore, the superiors and the communities provide them with periodic opportunities to acquire a deeper understanding of their religious and apostolic lives, to broaden their knowledge and to improve their professional skills. (Constitutions, # 81)

What is needed?

An aptitude for the Brother's life and an attraction which has withstood the test of time are signs of the Lord's call. Response to a vocation entails the total gift of self; it is clarified and sustained with the help of others who serve as instruments of God's grace. (Constitutions, # 50)

Candidates must be Catholic, free from canonical impediments, prompted by the right intentions, and acting of their own free will. They must be from respectable families, have good moral habits and possess the following qualities: a genuine piety consistent with their age, an open, firm and sociable character, sound judgment, adequate intelligence, interest in the education of youth, and physical and psychological health rooted in a wholesome heredity. (Constitutions, # 54)


The juvenate is available to young candidates who meet the criteria for admission, are receptive to the call of God and desire to live in a setting conducive to the study of their vocation. (Constitutions, # 60)


The postulate provides a more direct preparation to the novitiate through a deeper experience of the Christian life and a finer discernment of the Lord's call. Preferably, it takes place in a house other than the novitiate, but its director keeps in touch with the master of novices. Regional or provincial authorities establish its special modalities and its duration of six months or more.(Constitutions, # 61)

At the appropriate time, each postulant submits to the Provincial a written request for admission to the novitiate. His written dossier should include certificates of Baptism and Confirmation, at least one letter of recommendation and, when advisable, a certificate of freedom from canonical impediments. (Constitutions, # 62b)


A novice seeks to develop his knowledge of Christ and his intimacy with him, to acquire a deeper appreciation of his Mennaisian vocation and to assess its requirements. In order to obtain a greater love of God, he strives to practice the evangelical counsels and to integrate in his being the contemplative and the active dimensions of the apostolic religious life. He studies the history and the activities of the Congregation and the life and achievements of its Founders. Under the guidance of the master of novices, in a fraternal community, he prepares himself through reflection and prayer to make an informed and mature personal decision. (Constitutions, # 67)

At the novitiate, the study of Scripture and of doctrine is not directed toward a degree, but towards a better formation by a deepening of the life of faith and by the contribution which such studies make to a fuller knowledge and love of God. (Constitutions, # 68)


The religious profession is the action of one whom the person of Christ has captivated, who wills to declare publicly his desire to follow him and who therefore joins a society organized specifically for mutual support in God's service. This traditional aim of all religious is the Founders' legacy, which the Brother cherishes and carefully transmits to his successors. (Directory, # 23)

At the moment of his profession, the Brother, drawn by an unshakable hope, takes hold of his entire life with all its unforeseeable vicissitudes and places it as a spiritual sacrifice in God's almighty hand. The dynamic impact of that fleeting act, sustained by grace, endures as a permanently willed oblation despite superficial variations in his dispositions.

Thereafter, the Brother belongs to God in a new way, as a living [arable of the love relationship between God and regenerated mankind: "I will espouse you to me forever, ... I will espouse you in fidelity". (Directory, # 24)

On-going Formation

Throughout the Congregation, the initial formation must, according to ecclesial norms, be continued until the perpetual profession.

Accordingly, young Brothers continue their spiritual formation and their studies, particularly in theology and catechetics. They acquaint themselves with the apostolic and professional activities of the Congregation and strive to acquire an adequate critical understanding of the values and norms which govern the thoughts and actions in their society. (Constitutions, # 78)

Personal formation is an unending process. Throughout their lives, the Brothers try to progress in the service of God, the Church and society. Whenever possible, the superiors and the communities provide them with periodic opportunities to acquire a deeper understanding of their religious and apostolic lives, to broaden their knowledge and to improve their professional skills. (Constitutions, # 81)



Lamennais Brothers
PLDT Compound-Avanceña St. Molo
Tel: 63 (0) 33 338 4379


Lamennais Brothers c / o IBP

Pandan Antique 5712
Tel: 63 (0) 36 278 9718


Lamennais Brothers' House
Gen. Fulton Street
SAN JOSE - Antique 5700


In 1987 , the brothers decided to relocate from Japan in the Philippines.
They teach at St Anthony's College, Diocesan College at San Jose in the island of Panay, one of eleven major islands of the country. Over the years, the brothers taught at both secondary at the college level. Meanwhile, they devote themselves to serving the diocese and in teacher training.

In 1994
, the brothers added a technical section for young people not attracted by the theoretical studies.

In 2004 , the bishop gives them the direction of Pandan Bay Institute, high school located on the northern tip of the province of Antique. Since PBI has expanded its kindergarten, the college sector and has even opened an elementary class .

in 2008, two brothers settled Iloilo in the province of the same name, to work to awaken vocations of young high school graduates who had made their request.

The 8 brothers, six Canadians and two Ugandan communities are divided into three.

Brothers Christian Instruction

Brothers Christian Instruction

The Brothers and Superior General

The Brothers and Superior General

Bishop of San Jose De Antique

Bishop of San Jose De Antique
Jose Romeo Lazo, D.D.

La Mennais Brothers

La Mennais Brothers
The Brothers in the Philippines

The La Mennais Brothers

This are the La Mennais Brothers in the Philippines with three communities.

Br. Leonard
Br. Andre
Br. Nolin
Br. Richard
Br. Fernand
Br. Charles
Br. Eugene


Created by: Asp. Raphy M. Gordon

La Mennais Brothers

La Mennais Brothers-Iloilo Community

Bo. Eugene ------Uganda-Formator

Bo. Andre--------Canada-Asst. Formator

La Mennais Brother

La Mennais Brother
Br. Eugene

La Mennais Brother

La Mennais Brother
Br. Andre

PBI- Pandan

PBI- Pandan

San Jose LMB

San Jose LMB
FIC-Brothers House

LMB Formation House

LMB Formation House
Aspirants House

Raphy Gordon

Raphy Gordon

La Mennais Aspirants 2009-2010

La Mennais Aspirants

Raphy M. Gordon---San Remigio, Antique, Philippines.


My photo
Antique, VI, Philippines
Name: Pastor Raphy M.Gordon, B-Day: June 11, 1989, Address: Carawisan I, San Remigio, Antique, Parents: Claudio Merjuar Gordon, B-Day: November 15, 1966, Mother: Gemma Aurelio Macatigos, B-day: May 04, 1967 Daughter: Myline Geane Macatigos Gordon, B-day: October 20, 1990.

Address and Email to:

Please Contact:

Address: PLDT Compound, Avanceña treet, Molo, Iloilo City 5000 Philippines
Email to:
Cell Phone Nu. 09295694280Raphy Gordon)
Or call (033) 338-4379 (0918)239-8228

* Educators.....

+ BROTHERS serving......
+YOUNG People

La Mennais Aspirants 2008-2009

La Mennais Aspirants 2008-2009

La Mennais Aspirants 20092-2010

La Mennais Aspirants 20092-2010



By his consecration he seeks to more closely mimic the form of life that the Son of God has done on earth and has proposed to his disciples.

In his apostolic mission, it updates the charism of the founders Jean-Marie Lamennais and Gabriel Deshayes , by making available to the appeals of the Church and the world in the field of education.

Captivated by Christ : religious teaching profession is the gait of a man than the person of Jesus seduced and who intends to declare public-cally for him. This is the meaning of the three vows that the brother position at his profession:

Obedience : Seeking the Father's will and obey him through human mediation.
Poverty : use the goods of this world without attaching his heart.
Chastity : belong to God with an undivided heart.

The Institute fulfills its mission by Apostolic human and Christian education , especially the young, especially the weak and poor.

The congregation selects the school - particularly the Christian school - as the preferred means of education. The brothers devote themselves to teaching, catechesis and other activities suggested by the community's needs.

The education of the faith through religious education, catechesis and spiritual movement animation is the major concern of all brothers

Under a manifest desire of the founders, the Congregation is also dedicated to the apostolate.
Some Brothers receive a specific call of God to this particular call. They go in faith and obedience, to publicize the good news of salvation offered by Jesus Christ.

IN COMMUNITY life and prayer :
Brothers live in fellowship. In simplicity and joy, they agree to share what they are, what they do and what they have.

Every day, where possible, they take part in the Eucharistic Sacrifice.

Twice a day they community together to pray in the morning for the Divine Office and prayer in the evening, for the adoration of the Blessed Sacrament and Vespers.

The Treaty of Union

The Treaty of Union

On June 6, 1819, Fathers Gabriel Deshayes and Jean-Marie de Lamennais in Saint-Brieuc sign a "union treaty" in which they pool their energies to "provide children with the people, especially those from the countryside of Brittany, teacher firmly

The first, Gabriel Deshayes, Auray priest, had already trained several young people to become teachers in the countryside, according to the method of teaching La Salle Brothers. At the request of Jean-Marie de Lamennais, Chapter vicar and administrator of the diocese of Saint-Brieuc, he had provided two teachers to open a school in Pordic and in early June 1819, he accompanied three other youths intended to establish a a Christian school in Dinan.

"On behalf of the Most Holy Trinity, Father, Son and Holy Spirit," We, Jean-Marie Robert de Lamennais, vicar general of Saint-Brieuc, and Gabriel Deshayes, vicar general of the Diocese of Vannes and Auray Cure "Desiring to provide children of the people, especially those from the countryside of Brittany, teachers firmly pious, we resolved to form an interim basis in Saint-Brieuc and Auray novitiates two young people who will follow, as far as possible The rule of Christian Brothers and will use their teaching method, but considering that this good work can not grow emerging and consolidated over time, and that each of us may die before when this good work is sufficiently advanced to support itself,

We agreed as follows:

Both houses of novitiate established, one in Saint-Brieuc and the other at Auray, will be directed, namely: first, by M. de Lamennais, the second by M. Deshayes.
Both houses have the same rule, the same teaching method and will not make one.
Each of us will have the guidance and supervision of all the brothers placed in his diocese and all those he put in another diocese.
When we deem it appropriate, we will choose a higher among Brothers and two assistants, and we denote the house where they will live, where the choices were not made before the death of one of us, office or the other, for whatever reason, could not concur, the selection and arrangements to make for the good of society will be made by one.
We take care to find, as soon as possible, house central to both dioceses, which is not far off a main road and, as far as possible, in the country.
Each of us will take the necessary steps at his death the resources that remain in the hands for the institution pass to the survivor who will join them with his own support for the company.

Done twice in Saint-Brieuc, on Trinity Sunday, June 6, 1819.

Vicar General and pastor of Auray

Vicar General of Saint-Brieuc

Spirituality and Charism

Spirituality and charism

Providence always so good
(Jean Marie de Lamennais)

Providence of God, O my Mother so often invoked, to whom I offered, consecrated, dedicated this house and all that is meeting your grace.

Providence always so good, so wise, so full of pity and love for your poor creatures, we adore thee, we bless you, we surrender to you without reservation, make us what you like.

We have no other desire than to do yours in all things: the humiliation, the greatness, in poverty, in wealth, health, in sickness, life and death.

O my God, do not listen to our blind desires, our prayers indiscreet provided we are in the order you have established and we second your designs; provided caregiver to save our brethren we may save ourselves everything is good, and we have voice to sing the hymn of thanksgiving.

Providence of God, watching over your children, strengthen, and directs at them, be their advocate, their guide, their light, their advice, their consolation, their treasures, their joy, their hopes in
God alone in time, God Only in eternity!

Spirituality and charism

I love the Church!
Oh, our Mother Church, she is beautiful!
For her, I want to live, fight and die! ! "

(Jean Marie de Lamennais)

We must love the Church as we love BC she was married and who does it with one body and one flesh, that is to say with all our heart and with all our will and our strength.

We must love the Church with all our strength; him to devote all, we have nothing to do that either she does not refuse the job if it can be painful, when it comes to be useful

Love the Church! Have a heart truly Catholic. All those who, like us, are working to extend the kingdom of Jesus Christ we are still very expensive: let's look at their work, their projects, their work, as well as ours. Let us appreciate them all the services they render to our mother.

And if we are called to suffer for it, that our courage does not shaken, we do not disturb, but then say with great joy, I came into the congregation to bear witness to the truth and to serve the Church which is the column alive at the expense of everything at the expense of my health and my peace at the expense of my own life, I have no other desire, no will.

(Priests of Saint-Meen)

Spirituality and charism

O Mother, Mary!

The devotion of Jean-Marie de Lamennais to the Holy Virgin was simple and informed. Every day, he recited the rosary and he had total confidence in what he called his dear Mother and Queen.

Here is a passage from a sermon written for young people "congregational" for February 2, day of Purification.

God the Father animated infinite love for His Son has made all the magnificence of its treasures, and I would almost say he has exhausted all its power to prepare for this beloved Son a home worthy of him in this world. Thus all men are children of God in Jesus Christ, but his daughter Mary is a special way and much higher, since he has chosen from all eternity to wear in her virginal womb His Word, his wisdom, his word substantially Who could tell his glory? [...]

When on the cross Jesus gave us his mother and he wanted us to be his children as he was himself the Son, we therefore made a gift that is beyond any expression of gratitude. And first note that to make us more conscious of the immensity of this blessing, he chose the disciple whom he loved to be the first guardian Woman behold your son, disciple, behold your mother touching words of consolation and joy These words echo in my heart as the focus of love and the voice of mercy.

Mother of God, is it true that you are also my mother! Ah that's the case, I will approach you with confidence, I show myself to you as I am weak, miserable sinner, worthy to securities of a pity your mother's heart, I say to my mother O Mother, behold your son, do not turn away your eyes from him, but rather let your child fall on one of those tears of pity and tenderness, renewing his soul will make the peace that delights the sense of his sins !

Spirituality and charism

We must take God as our term referred conscious act for His glory, not by vanity, personal taste or through other motives selfish.

All God
It's easy to say we want to be everything to God, and who is it who has not said a thousand times? But it is rare like it fully, strongly and without floating away and the other half will sick and listless, with some reaching up towards the sky to fight against each other falls back the earth
(Sermons of the Fathers of St. Meen, Sermons Volume II, p 622)

God alone is their motto
We need mature minds, capable of a resolution, who can take advantage, and that the right way is discovered, do not turn away because they feel discomfort, or because given them imprudent advice. We need strong minds that are above a loathing, an obstruction, peril, or their own weakness. We need thinking people who do not behave capriciously, but by rules of faith and not starting to build to let go of the imperfect structure. We need, in short, the brothers filled with the spirit of sacrifice, which had only one thought and one desire, the desire to gain heaven by giving herself to God without reserve and without return, immolating themselves every day for His glory. Let them up here, they are placed elsewhere, it makes little difference, as the world's applause or blame it, it makes little God alone is their motto!
(Sermons Brothers, Volume II, p 549 )

* * *

Tell me always, in great detail, everything that you personally, so I give you the paternal advice you need. For now I simply have to commit yourself to God in your every action: seek only His glory and not just men, beware of their applause, their praise, and if you have some success, report them to the One from which they come, and from whom comes all grace.
(the brother Alfred Marie, July 7, 1844 in Correspondence Volume 5, p. 209)

Spirituality and charism


Do not judge all things according to the light of faith and always for eternity.

(Series of 1825, for the brothers)


I wonder fearfully if we have come at a time announced by Jesus Christ when he said: "Do you, when I come, I find even a little faith on earth?" If anything were the awaken in the hearts, this faith, this would probably be the missions ... And to make these wonders, what is it? great talent? No, but a great faith.

Oh, if we knew what faith can! If it was animated, driven only by faith! If you do put it in his trust and hope! Oh, then it would recreate the wonders of ancient days ...

(In Reflections on the state of the Church in France)


The soul that is gentle and soft in the hand of God, who can not resist the inspirations of His grace, who believes that he directs men and their counsel, this soul, I say, far from obtaining irritated by the conflict and be painfully agitated by continual movement of impatience and frustration, enjoys a peace that nothing can alter and always blesses and loves, with a delectable joy and tender love, the designs of Providence on it.

(Memorial, 119)

Let us acquire this unalterable serenity, the calm of mind, that sweetness, full of joy, peace, love and hope, which has been promised and that is given to those who, rising over the nature and meaning, see God and see God in everything.

(Memorial, 123-124)

Consider with the eyes of faith everything which happens, and always be fully resigned to the holy and adorable will of God.

(To Brother Lucien, 11 January 1846)

Spirituality and charism

Jean-Marie de Lamennais targets children

Of all the festivals of the year, my dear children, no one should not inspire devotion softer than the Christmas party. Whenever the Church celebrates the Eucharist, it seems to me to attend the birth of the Savior of the world and witness all the miracles that accompanied him. I imagine the shepherds to the voices of angels hastened to pay him their respects, I join them, I share their impatience to find the divine Child who brings us salvation and peace, I bow in his presence, and my soul is barely enough to feelings of admiration, joy, gratitude and love that fill.

A Saviour is born! Feel good all that is holy, wonderful, delightful, in these few words?

A Saviour is born! The whole world was plunged into deep darkness; here's who will be the light and will reveal the highest mysteries of heaven.

A Saviour is born! For four thousand years the human race was a slave: here is his deliverer. All our rights are rendered, or rather the rights of the son of God become ours, her legacy is our inheritance, His justice and righteousness, and God is our Father as his. Tremble, O earth, because the Lord has comforted his people and he will have mercy on its poor.

* * * * * *

But what signs we recognize that just as we enrich Thanksgiving? The angels we learn. He is born in a stable and rests in a manger wrapped in swaddling clothes of poverty!

When I consider these diapers, the crib, the straw on which AD is lying, its poverty, weakness, I recognize these signs the Messiah whom the prophets had announced the visit, which was, poor himself, proclaim the Gospel to the poor, comfort the afflicted by his suffering, support the humble humbling himself.

Who indeed is the Savior's birth she first announced? That poor shepherds, simple men and rights who believe without difficulty, because he had no interest in not believing, just the angel he said that Christ the Lord is born in a barn they abandon their flocks, and now the middle of the night they set off. See how they run, as they hasten to arrive! how eagerly they will lay at the feet of the baby Jesus! with what eagerness of faith they love and identify with the child the father of eternity, the prince of peace, their liberator, their God.

Let us follow them and they arrive in Bethlehem enter with them into the barn. Oh I like to represent me these poor shepherds, hands clasped, on his knees before the manger of baby Jesus! they are pure the recognition they offer! How cunningly simple in their language! how kind they candidly express their joy and gratitude, and love to their Saviour is born! They never tire of fixing their eyes upon him moved, they adore, they bless, they pray they bless him yet they are happy depths of the soul! Ineffable happiness! truly heavenly joy! My God, you allow us to unite our voices to theirs in these holy days, to praise you for all these wonders? We allow you to join with them, we worship at your feet, and then listen in silence to the lessons you give us.

Divine Child, who are born for the salvation of the world, be our salvation, that our heart will serve as a cradle deign to take a second birth, you will not find in your crib like a little straw ah! it is very miserable and very poor, but Lord, take possession of it is yours, yours forever, and we are or at least we want to be men of good will, we want you believe, and imitate follow you.

Spirituality and charism

for a Christian education

, Jean-Marie de Lamennais wrote to his brothers

Anastasius's brother, June 1, 1846.
You have a wonderful mission.
"Yes, you have a wonderful mission, and I bless God for having given it, because working for the sanctification of small children who will be assigned, you work at your own sanctification: it seems that these dear children benefit from your care, but I am confident that your training at night is also great fruit: I am glad that you have made do with f. Donatien, each taking their successively week: fatigue diminishes when shared. "

In F. Lucien, 18 November 1832. Winning the affection of children
"Do not get discouraged, but take extra care and effort to win the affection of your children, and destroy the unjust prejudices that some may have against you. Do not knock the rigor and blows do more harm than good. "

Anastasius's brother, July 8, 1844 .. Patience
"Do not discomforting that your children are gone and docile little first: they are not yet trained little by little, they will bend to the rule, but it takes a little time and much patience for this: the humility to ask God, and count on his assistance. "

In F. Lucien, March 14, 1845 . Again, patience.
"Be patient with your children and do not expect to be perfect; age excuses many miseries, and your lessons are not lost because they do not benefit the moment. "

In F. Andrew, 17 October 1823. Patience, time and again.
"Take care you deliver to your impatience in class. If a child resists you, do not punish while you're moved and never by force nor a differently than you is permitted.

To brother Stephen, Mary, 14 December 1839. Training and piety.
"Do not neglect your children to make progress, but cleave to hear you above all of religion and to inspire them to piety."

Spirituality and charism

Jean-Marie de Lamennais,
a man with fiery zeal and courage of iron.

As described by his biographers.
Jean-Marie de Lamennais was a man of action. His priestly life was totally dedicated to the restoration of the church after the turmoil of the French Revolution.

Just ordered, he combines the post of vicar at the Cathedral of Saint-Malo and teacher at the seminary, not to mention the sermons he is required to ensure the surrounding parishes, to the point that his health was broken and it has to stop for two years.

Called to the diocese of St. Brieuc as secretary of the Bishop, he was chosen to his death, as the vicar and chapter deploys extraordinary activity:

"We saw him," said the abbot in his funeral oration Léséleuc Jean-Marie de Lamennais, appear a few hours away, on the farthest reaches of this vast diocese. Should I carry one of these somewhere aggressive acts, which wishes to the most hardened retreat sometimes it does not reject the burden on another. He himself was addressed head-on the most intractable problems identified, strengthen one of its priests threatened in its resting or paralyzed in its action, in person and decide to enforce the award on time saving, increase its iron and fire wherever an inveterate called the supreme remedy. And then, before we had even suspected his departure, saw him back on horseback in the cathedral city and resume his office as if he had not gone thirty leagues, his place to advise of all. "

He preaches the ecclesiastical retreats, seminars reorganizes, buys the convents, founded the Congregation of the Sisters of Providence and Gabriel Deshayes, the Institute of Brothers of Christian Instruction. He spends his free time in the confessional available to young people who invade his stairwell.

Later, he moved to Ploërmel where he manages his brothers institute and undertake frequent journeys across the UK to visit schools to preach retreats for children, meet with mayors and parish priests to address the urgent problems etc.. He founded a new congregation of missionary priests, but the defection of his brother Feli terminates this company yet promising.

He sends his brothers in the Caribbean, maintains a regular correspondence with them, regularly travels to Paris in the department to defend its schools and state its needs.

Amidst all these occupations, each day he celebrated Mass, reciting his breviary in full, the night if necessary, remains faithful to the rosary daily, finds time to read and educate themselves. Got tired of a journey that has kept him out of Josselin for several weeks, he immediately goes to confession and confesses his brothers until the late hours of the night.

His collaborator, the most faithful and closest for over twenty-five years Ploërmel, Abbe Pierre Ruault, said: "I was and am a daily witness of his resignation right, with his courageous patient, his unwavering strength to continue his work through the difficulties of all kinds and from all sides. I am a witness of the blessings that God deigns to impart on the businesses of his indefatigable zeal. "

THE LOGO OF THE "YEAR OF THE JEAN-MARIE MENNAIS" The presentation of the logo

21 November 2009

The presentation of the logo

Dear Friends,

I am pleased to send you this day, shortly before the start of Advent, the logo of the Year 2010-2011 .

He will lead this "Year Jean-Marie de Lamennais," decided by the General Council of the Congregation of the ICF.

The logo is a sign of communion of the whole congregation and a powerful symbol for the whole family mennaisienne.

It is intended for widespread use, from now on all communication documents and objects in your province (schools, communities, groups mennaisiens ...).

It is addressed both to children and young people, as brothers of course, to laity, parents and all family members mennaisienne.

You will find below a document presenting the meaning of this logo, symbolic and ideas of possible uses.

Wishing with the help of this tool and all other looming (No. Special Jean-Marie de Lamennais out in January next CD mennaisiens songs, books, pictures, bookmarks, posters, calendar, compass ...)

that you can fully experience this time of Advent, and the broader exceptional year looming

, which starts officially in November 2010, in a year! - I assure you, my fraternal greetings.

Michel Tanguy

Logo of the Year Jean-Marie de Lamennais

Sense and Symbol The logo is inspired by the congregation and arms made from the theme "Let's plant a lot! "

* Compass
The compass can move to seek a horizon, one course.

The compass is a navigational tool. The sea is what brings people, countries, continents.

It is a symbolic object of Saint-Malo, the birthplace of one who was called the Corsair of God. "

Jean-Marie de Lamennais points to Christ as azimuth, it provides benchmarks, guidelines and indicates a Father.

This is an invitation to everyone: to believe in its possibilities, try to lay out roads, trails open,
being the founders.

* Grains
is the symbol of sowing and spring.

They are at the same time sowing moving in the wind, in a whisper, a start.

D + S *
"God alone! "Is the motto at the heart of the identity of the congregation.

* Colors
Two dominant colors bright and tonic: magenta 100% that indicated the life and energy and lime green: spring and renewal.

This logo is available to be used in many variations depending on your project: Letters, documents, posters, objects, t-shirts, caps, scarves, flags, stickers, websites, images ...

It affects both young children, classes, families, the communities of brothers, schools, groups.

Monday, March 15, 2010


Raphy Gordon

at School ,USA

Raphy Gordon and Lito Asinas


How to use computer?

USA Library

University Of San Agustin,Library

La MEnnais Aspirants 2009-2010

Lito Asinas- Buang ,Hamtic, Antique- Raphy Gordon- San Remigio,Antique

La MEnnais Brothers House-Iloilo

Raphy Gordon

La Mennais Aspirant-Pandan

Jayrie Salmorin- Pandan,Antique 2009


Raphy Gordon

How toplay Guitar?

Campus Ministry

It is during our meeting every weak.

Home of the Aged

Why we here? What Ocassion?


Birthday of Adamje Abiera

La MEnnais Aspirants 2009-2010

at La MEnnais Brothers House, Bagumbayan , San Jose, Antique
La MEnnais Aspirants

With the Mill Hill Priest

Fr. Jack the Mill Hill MIssionary,One who celebrate mass at the La MEnnais Brothers every last weak of the months.


It is during Mass

Clasmates and Friends of the La MEnnais Aspirants

The Classmates and friends of La MEnnais Aspirants 2008

Raphy Gordon Antique

Raphy Gordon

We Celebrate Mass!

Every last weak of the month we celebrate mass at the la MEnnais Brothers house.

The Agustinian Student

Raphy Gordon
La MEnnais Aspirant

The friends of the La MEnnais Aspirants

The friends of the La MEnnais Aspirants


Raphy and Erwin

Summer Camp 2008

During the Summer Camp 2008

What are we doing?

                            Reading books and study                      Practice how to use computer
                                    Raphy Gordon                            Jayrie Salmorin- Pandan, Antique

My Teacher in English(Creative writing)

Mrs. Rosella T. Quiros
English Teacher.
It is during our presentation for finals and we have program called the Bigaon Award.
I am at he best in most bleed in writing and the first writer of short story.

University of San Agustin

This the University where the la Mennais Aspirants study and take their  courses especially the Education major in different majors.

University of San Agustin, Iloilo City, Philippines

We are the members of Knights of saint Augustine, The Acolytes

This are the acolytes who serve during the mass and special mass at the University.

Saturday, March 13, 2010

Erwin John Mariano

La Mennais Aspirant

Erwin John Mariano

La Mennais Aspirant, Erwin John Maraino, from San Remigio, Antique, Philippines.

Guitar Recital

This is the Guitar Recital
with my Co-Aspirant Erwin John Mariano

He left the formation house on the 2009

He is the La MEnnais Aspirant, Third year college at he Univesitry of  San Augustine ,, Iloilo City.
He left the formation on 2009.
Herbert Evaresto

The Provincial visits us the La MEnnais Brothers, Philippines.

This is during the provincial visit us here in the Philippines.
Br. Gabriel

La Mennais Aspirants and La Mennais Brothers 2008-2009

La MEnnais Aspirants- Molo, Iloilo City, Philippines.

La Mennais Aspirants and La Mennais Brothers 2008-2009

Brothers and Aspirants

La Mennais Aspirants and La Mennais Brothers 2008-2009

                                                La MEnnais Brothers ans LMB Aspirants


Carlo Sueta and Raphy Gordon

Friday, March 12, 2010

Seminars and Activity

This is what the aspirants do and to how improve their knowledge and thier
abilites or to know thier capacity if they called by God.

He left the formation house

Carlo Sueta is a La MEnnais Aspirants since 2008-2010
He left the formation house on February 26 2010.

Sunday, February 14, 2010

Raphy Gordon

Raphy Gordon

University of San Agustin,Iloilo City, Philippines

Raphy Gordon

Thursday, February 11, 2010

Carlo Sueta

Carlo Sueta is a La Mennais Aspirant and  from Pandan , Antique

Johnny Baleña

Johnny Baleña  is a La Mennais Aspirant and from San Remigio, Antique.

Robinson Place, Iloilo City

Raphy Gordon

Christmas Party

Raphy Gordon

Christmas Party

Christmas Party

Christmas Party Dec. 23, 2009

Raphy Gordon

Raphy Gordon

Raphy Gordon

La Mennais Aspirants

Bookmark and Share

Raphy Gordon


Religion blogs & blog posts

Search This Blog-Raphy Gordon

Raphy Gordon